Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Walking distance to city centre

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Clean, comfortable with reasonavle facilities. Room was adequate. Parking is available but is expensive on top of the room fee. Wifi was a little slow but included in price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blue Mountains

Nice hotel close to centre.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Close to city centre
Hotel is close to great restaurants. Upgraded from one bedroom to suite. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this 5 star rating - We are glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly team, great location and your overall stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back again on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards Joe Sergi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Disappointing

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The reception staff were extremely helpful
Cons: More hangers, extra and chair and layout of shower facility.
Location: Was central for transport.
The room was small and lacked an extra chair for clothes. Overlooked by offices. lack of hanging space. Difficult shower if you had short arms as the taps were well back from glasss shower panel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to share this review - We are glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly reception team although I would like to apologise this stay did not meet your expectations. This review has been passed onto our specific teams to rectify although if given another opportunity please feel free to contact our team directly and we would be happy to try allocate a more suitable room type and also provide extra hangers. Kind Regards Joe Sergi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: LOCATION AND THE COMFORT OF THE ROOM
Cons: ROOM CLEANERS FORGOT TO PUT IN ALL THE BATHROOM PRODUCTS
THE HOTEL IS CL=SE TO THE CENTRE OF THE CITY AND IS VERY COMFORTABLE. THE STAFF WERE EXCELLENT THE ROOM IS A GOOD SIZE AND EXCELLENT SHOWER. BATHROOM PRODUCTS WERE NOT FULLY PROVIDED
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this review - We are glad to hear you enjoyed our great location and overall stay during your time in Canberra. I would like to apologise in regards to the small issue with our housekeeping team although if returning we hope we can improve on this area and make sure your stay is perfect. Kind Regards Joe Sergi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel with reasonable price

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The room we stayed is clean and tidy. The bed is comfortable. Staff were so friendly. We will come back for sure. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - We are glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly team, clean comfortable rooms and your overall stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you on your next visit to Canberra Kind Regards Joe Sergi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beechworth

Great position

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness and it was very quiet.
Cons: Scrap the parking surcharge.
Location: Short walk to city centre, so close to restaurants.
Unfriendly staff member at initial check in, otherwise all staff excellent. Great location, so close to city you can walk in or bus stop directly outside hotel. Immaculately clean and safe. Parking surcharge was $12.00 which I think should have been included in price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - We are glad you enjoyed our great location although I would like to apologise in regards to the issues mentioned. We hope if given another opportunity we can improve in these areas and make your stay perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Quite disappointed with the hotel's facilities, and breakfast selection. Cleanliness of rooms could be improved, especially floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience - We would like to apologise your stay did not meet your expectations although this review has been passed onto our respective teams to rectify and hopefully if given another opportunity we can improve and make your stay much more pleasant Kind Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Bad sales pitch for Mantra

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Lastminute
I guess the hotel is showing its age. There's lots of little stains in the carpet, the bathroom had mould around the base of most of the grouting, the benches in the bathroom had quite a few stains, the walls in the bathroom had unknown goop splattered over them and hair stuck to them and the exhaust vent was thick with fluff. The beds were not at all comfortable, but at least the linen was clean. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was very good (appart from he kitchen staff yelling to the floor staff, rather then getting closer and speaking at a normal level). I'm a little annoyed at the fact that Mantra took a deposit for the room, a week later, they still haven't reconciled and returned this deposit to me. For the money, I'd have to recommend looking around Canberra for a better deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gungahlin

Good hotel with friendly staff

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Lastminute
I wasn't entirely empressed with what I paid considering how old the hotel was & the comfort of the beds. To get to the pool was like a horror movie, and when we got down there eventually it was really old, needs updating. The staff were lovely however so that's the positive. I couldn't get the radio to work properly as the antenna was broken. I just felt I paid far too much for such an old dark hotel... & the wifi even cost $15 extra on top of parking $12 per car!
4 out of 5
by Clint

Little things matter

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Staff need to pay attention to detail:- bathroom door hinges very squeaky and noisy tap handles loose - needed to screw down fixing lugs myself or have the handles fall off very mouldy grout in the shower otherwise, room was spotless and near perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017
Dear Clint, Thank you for taking the time to write this review - We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us although the issues mentioned have been passed onto our respective teams to review and rectify as this is not up to our usual standards. If returning hopefully we can improve in these certain areas and make sure your stay is perfect. Kind Regards Joe Sergi Assistant Manager