Ratings based on 1,571 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Weekend break

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel is a bit dated in parts.
Location: Close to the War Memorial and other tourist attractions
This Hotel is close to everything, including the Airport. Customer service is great, the food was very enjoyable and the room was huge and very comfortable indeed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Last minister booking. Great deal. Room was very quiet and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient Location

Posted Jan 14, 2018
The Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the War Memorial and the centre of the City. The rooms are clean and practical, parking was free and there are reasonable meals available in the Bar downstairs. We stayed during a quiet period in early January so the room rates were more than reasonable. would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern NSW

A disappointing experience

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: The staff and gardens.
Cons: More attention to detail with cleaning, and a refurbishment
Location: Convenient location.
Staff were friendly and helpful however the overall experience was poor. The carpets were tired and dirty, the bath was grubby and appeared not to have been cleaned,room windows were filthy, door jams to the room and bathroom were dirty and did not appear to have been cleaned in a long time. The room was surprisingly small and the bathroom facilities were cramped. There was no lift
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Patina, Hotel Management
Dear John and Judy, thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed and will share your feedback with our housekeeping team. I am pleased to let you know that we have brand new carpet on order, and anticipate delivery and installation in February. We trust this will be a great start to the many touch ups taking place in 2018. We hope to have a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely Patina Farnham General Manager Mercure Canberra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Having to pay for parking is a joke when you can park 20 meters away for nothing! Seriously you should scrap the parking levy and avoid any criticism at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

center locationts

Posted Dec 29, 2017
it was nice and near to all amenaties .Nice rooms with freindly staff and ample parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from penrith

Nice place, crap supervision

Posted Nov 21, 2017 on Wotif
Kids allowed to run around at 1am slamming doors, running up and down hallways, no intervention from staff whatsoever. Hotel guest required to ask children’s parents to be considerate of other guests ???? For the money spent, notbyhe best place to sleep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Close to war memorial

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Hotel has seen its better days ,old,shabby ,worn out looking no lifts to drag your bags up to your room not one of the nicer Canberra attractions . Would I stay here again , not unless I get 50 percent off.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good comfortable stay

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Was here for four nights for a conference. Hotel is large, with dated but spacious rooms. Having a balcony was a pleasant treat to allow fresh air into the room during the day. Location is about a ten minute walk to the nearby Canberra Centre, and plenty of great restaurants around there as well.