Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, but logistically good

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: It's central, quite and cheap. Staff is kind, speak English and they always help you with what you need
Cons: Very old building in need to refurbishment. Restaurant for breakfast is not in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel near Central DB Station

Posted May 1, 2016
Everything was excellent. KInd staff, comfortable bed, clean and spacious room...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eva from St. louis, Mo

Great hotel with easy access to sites.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness as well as easy access to sites.
Cons: Not a thing. It was a wonderful stay. This was my first time staying at a Mercure Hotel. I also stayed in the Mercure Hameln a few days later.
Great staff. Very clean rooms. Easy access to many shopping areas. One of two entrances is via a nice shopping mall as well as another larger mall. Hotel is located just a few minutes from trams. I would suggest staying here at least 3 or four days to enjoy the city and surrounding tourist sites. Compared to other hotels in the area this is definitely worth a stay. I highly recommend this hotel. A+++++++++++++++
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Reception was very efficent, although they booked us into the wrong room! and had no room to swap us to of equal value so we were given drinks vouchers. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Polina from Moscow, Russia

Good for several days in Paris

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Nice, clean, very cosy room. Just the menu of the room service could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn1 from Brighton, Brighton and Hove, UK

Great hotel in the centre of Kassel

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Breakfasts and location
Cons: Lack of English language TV channel
Location: Very central, just off Königsplatz
This was our fourth visit to Kassel (for Documenta) and definitely the best hotel we've stayed in. Amazing choice for breakfast and a really central position in the town. Only gripes would be that traffic noise is high and the TV didn't have any English language channels, not even CNN or BBC World News
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PGH guy from Pittsburgh

Business hotel near Kassel center

Posted Aug 7, 2012
A very good (though not exceptional) business oriented hotel near the heart of Kassel. No problems at all. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Too expensive, Breakfast was extra for 19 Euro

Posted Aug 25, 2010
Can't recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ramble

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2009
This was a very nice hotel and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Well situated and staff extremely helpful

Posted Aug 2, 2007
We were in Kassel for the once every five yearly art exposition Documenta. In the past we have stayed outside the city but wanted to be more centrally located this time. We found the Movenpick to be comfortable, extremely well situated (300 metres from the main Documenta exhibition sites) and the staff very helpful in suggesting restaurants and a place to rent bicycles. Not the cheapest place in town but certainly worth it. Would definitely stay there again.