Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vilseck, Germany

Would stay again

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Near autobahn, close to a few stores and dining
Cons: Instead of minibars in rooms, maybe mini-fridges instead.
This hotel is very similar to hotels one would see in the United States (it is a Wyndham, after all). Not a typical German-esque style hotel. The hotel itself is lovely, although not as modern as I thought it would be. It has a 1970s vibe (decor) to it, but isn't run down. Rooms are tidy, clean, and average in size (comparable to an airport hotel). We ate dinner at the Queen's Garden restaurant in the hotel, which was pretty good. Child menu prices were surprisingly low, and the adult menu wasn't too bad on the wallet. The hotel is right off of the auto-route, making it convenient to get out of town when the time comes. Not much to see near by, but there is a small shopping plaza across the street that has a Netto market if you need anything, and there's also a restaurant, and McDonald's within walking distance, too. My only complaint is that the staff didn't explain parking. I knew it was an additional fee (not much), but I didn't know we had to have our ticket validated until we tried getting back in after exploring for the day. Not a huge deal, just clarification at check in would've been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2015 by Sandra Schaumburg, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review. We hope you had a save trip home. We are delighted that your stay has met the expectations. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our house and our service. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements. Kind regards WYNDHAM GARDEN Kassel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Bit run down, but friendly staff. Silly that parking is an extra fee. Convenient to the autobahn (A7).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015
Dear Guests, Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review. We hope you had a good return journey. We are sorry that your visit hasn´t matched your expectations. We refurbished the hotel already partially. For example the lobby, two floors and the restaurant are already renovated. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our house and our service. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements. Kind regards WYNDHAM GARDEN Kassel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Bathrooms are dirty. Entrance its difficult to find because there is no evident entrance to drive to, just a bunch of outdoor plastic furniture blocking the entrance. You have to take a ticket at gate to get into the parking lot and it's not clear why. We got there late and we we were looking forward to leaving as soon as possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015
Dear Guests, Thank you for your evaluation and the time you spent for this detailed review. We hope you had a good return journey. We are sorry that your visit has not matched your expactations. We are constantly striving to improve the quality of our house and our servixe. We woul be very pleased to welcome you a second time in our hotel so that you can convince yourself of the improvements. Kind regards WYNDHAM GARDEN Kassel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

reasonable for a one night stop over.

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: not very helpful staff.
Location: nice place to eat just 5 minutes walk but staff won't tell you this.
staff were polite enough but didn't go out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arthur from Moosic, PA, USA

Clean, efficient, with easy access.

Posted Jun 4, 2013
This hotel sits just on the outskirts of the city giving easy access to points of interest and business locations. Although the hotel sits along side a busy road noise is not a problem. A very professional staff is helpful and quite willing to assist. There is no language barrier. Our room was clean and well maintained. I would willingly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liv from Oslo, Norway

Great hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Pros: Location just off the motorway, size of the room, good wifi in the room
Location: If you don't get breakfast at the hotel, then head across the street where there's a nice bakery/coffee shop
Good location right off the motorway with a large parking area and friendly staff. The room was quite spacious and had a good internet connection. Definitely will stay here again next time we're in the Kassel area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Tunbridge Wells GB

Perfectly ok but boring and stuck in the 1980s

Posted Jul 27, 2012
This hotel is one of many perfectly ok hotels in Kassel, a town is desperate need of a modern 21st century hotel. The room was spacious and functional, albeit a bit boring and dated, with a good and clean bathroom. The hotel seems vast with many large nondescript areas which seem stuck in the 1980s with displays of jewellery and handbags. Make sure you get a room to the front, away from the busy road, as it's too noisy the other side to open the window/door at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie-Ann from Melbourne, Australia

Staff responsiveness to clients

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Staff response
Cons: I was concerned to read that loss of property from guests room was not the Hotel's responsibility & left/collected belongings each day at Reception.
Location: 3-5km from Centre. Bus transport avail but unreliable & limited (last bus departed from Centre @1930 hence req taxi to return to Hotel. Cost 10 Euro).
I had a few issues that needed attention (i.e.water pressure in bathroom needed review, requested tea and coffee facilities in my room, a light globe needed replacing, asked for some cosmetic supplies) and the staff ensured that these requirements were fulfilled during the first 24hours of my stay. I was notably impressed. The reception staff were accessible, professional and most responsive. Particualrly as they endevoured to communicate with me in English and were most considerate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Brighton, The City of Brighton and Hove, UK

A good stopover

Posted Apr 7, 2012
A good, clean inexpensive stop- over. The reception staff were very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Would definately stay again

Posted Jul 11, 2011
A/c would not cool room otherwise wonderful stay and great restaurant.