Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
very nice hotel with central location but water in the sink very smelly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Þorkell - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. Hopefully we get the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of the staff and location
Cons: Could be soundproofed a little bit Cleaned under the bed, We found stuff from previous guests and some dust
Location: well located just a couple of blocks from downtown and the harbour
Overall I can say that the hotel is very good, unfortunately we had a school or a sports team full of young people staying and they were kind of loud. We could hear them knocking on each others doors and they were on the level below us. At some point we could hear a lot of people talking and even some music. Other than that, the staff was excellent. They helped us a lot, give us good tips and made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. The buffet breakfast was very good. Location is excellent being just a couple of blocks away from downtown. If you have mobility issues try to request a ground floor room as the hotel does not have a lift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Þorkell Emilsson - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very well located in Akureyri! Overall an excellent experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Þorkell - Reception, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us. We do our best to make sure our guests are happy and satisfied with their stay. We hope that the rest of your journey through Iceland was as enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel. On behalf of the hotel staff, Guest Relations Manager Þorkell Emilsson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a great location :)

Posted May 26, 2016
Great location and great hotel!! Buffet breakfast was great, rooms were clean and you can walk to anywhere around the core.....where there are a lot of restaurants and shops :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Got upgraded at no cost

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Costumer Service
Cons: nothing
Location: pretty close to city center
The hotel called me and left a message saying that they were full, but they would be happy to upgrade at their sister hotel. So when arriving at the hotel they gave us directions to Hotel Kea which was a better rated hotel and a better location. Hotel Kea was great and not sure how the actual hotel even was, but their costumer service was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Quite and cosy,
Cons: Noise insulation for those on first level
Location: Good food nearby
Close to main shopping street and necessary facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valhalla

Nice hotel in a convenient spot.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Courteous and helpful staff. Clean room and modern bathroom, both big enough for travellers not spending a long time there.
Cons: The 'double' bed was really two twins pushed together with a crack down the middle. They should get real double beds.
This is a good hotel with a nice breakfast. We had a negative experience with a crowd of drunks making noise and having a fight in the street below our window at 130 AM. The desk clerk called the police at my request and things got better. He explained in the morning that there was a snow-board festival in town that weekend and we were in a better location than most since we were away from most of the bars. Still I recommend asking for a room on the side of the hotel away from the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Centrally located hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Hotel very close to centre and easy to find. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Only thing letting it down is that it feels a little 'tired'. The decor could do with updating. Otherwise, great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price

Posted Sep 13, 2014
The hotel is located in a great location, easy walking to everything! Our bed was very comfortable however the room was small and the carpet has many stains and needs to be replaced. Breakfast was great with many options and the staff allowed us to check out late with no charge!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from London

Very Good Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Everything was good. Only complaint was the shower was stuck on boiling temperature.