Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff. I said I would not take the breakfast because I was leaving too early, to my surprise the food was ready earlier the next morning! A lot of indications to find the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Northern lights galore but thin walls

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Super friendly and helpful staff. My wife and I were thrilled to experience the Northern lights right outside of the guesthouse. The place is family oriented and the walls are thin. So after a late night of watching the Northern Lights we were awaken just after 7AM to the sound of kids. It is a great place to spend one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection!!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Everything was amazing, we had only booked it for one night, but upon checking in, immediately changed our plans and stayed 2 nights instead. There was a hot pot to sit in while looking for the Northern Lights, they had horse riding and 4-wheeler tours right there at the guesthouse, and an honesty bar so we didn't have to worry about what time it was if we needed some water or a snack. The also have a restaurant on site and an amazing breakfast buffet. Oh and the rooms come with a robe and the shared bathrooms are immaculate and well equipped with toiletries and towels, etc.
Cons: There is nothing I didn't like! This hotel was by far the best of our entire stay in Iceland!
Location: It's far enough outside Akureyri that the city lights don't affect the night sky when looking for the Aurora, but it's just 10 mins into town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was fantastic. We saw the Northern Lights from here and had great views!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful Location, Comfy Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Location/setting, comfy room
Cons: Not much.
Location: Go to Akureyri for whale-watching and/or spend the day wandering around the main part of town and exploring some of the residential area. Lots to do!
Very pleased with the comfortable room. I arrived late after a long drive and it was a relief to have a warm shower and bed. The hotel was fairly quiet until people started moving around in the morning. The setting was lovely, with a small farm surrounding the place, a view of the water, and mountains rising beyond - I took my cup of coffee outside with me in the morning to admire it all. The staff was very helpful and arranged a whale-watching tour at the last-minute for me (which was a fantastic experience and I was lucky enough to see eleven humpbacks!). Only a short drive to charming Akureyri.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's got charm, but could be so much better.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here two nights while exploring Northern Iceland. Overall, it's a cute folksy place with a lovely, top notch breakfast. There are horse stables next door if you'd like to go horseback riding. If you're into grandma style crafts with lace and doilies this is just your kind of place. They have a great reading room. The rooms are extremely small though...just enough for two twin beds and a tiny sink in the corner. The shared bathrooms are just so-so. Yes, you get a great little country farmhouse feel...but I felt they could really make some simple investments to take it to another level. Most folks will be satisfied...but it won't blow your mind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay but don't trust Google maps

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
This was an excellent guest house. The staff were ultra friendly and there are fantastic facilities. Breakfast was delicious and the room was comfortable. Only issue we had is that we arrived at night in heavy rain and were relying on Google maps. This took us to a resident's house down the street (they even have a sign on their door so it must happen a lot). Pretty sure there is a decent sign which you would see in the daytime but be aware not to rely on Google maps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Set in a beautiful and quiet location just outside of Akureyri, this guesthouse is the perfect retreat for a weary traveller. The breakfast was bountiful and the hot tub made for a delightful treat at the end of the day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Most unique, cozy, comfy and fun stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Amenities, style, and staff. Great atmosphere-cozy, and fun. Offers a bit of everything for everyone.
Cons: Was challenging to find on GPS. Hotel double charged me, but was quickly resolved when brought to their attention.