Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quirky hotel with some drawbacks

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was fantastic! Shower was lovely.
Cons: A single double bed in the double room! Tap water smelled a little swampy at times, and towels weren't very fluffy (they were clearly air-dried).
Location: This B&B is a 15-20 minute walk from the town of Obidos, but note that this would be somewhat difficult to do after sundown; if you want to walk home
The staff was truly lovely-- nice, welcoming, and very accommodating. They really did try to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable even though we were only there for one night. Before booking, be aware that the B&B is historic-- so it's charming, but not all fixtures are completely modern. We booked a double room but got two twin beds pushed together with separate bedding-- not great for a couple. Breakfast is elaborate and very nice, and there are activities on the property, so this struck me as more of a family getaway spot than a hotel for those hoping to do some sightseeing in the town of Obidos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Thank you for your appreciation. Our daily efforts are to our guests’ wellbeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

19th Century Villa with exceptional view

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Beautiful inn with view of the wall and castle of Obidos. I was in room 7 which had high ceilings, two large windows, period furnishings, closets, comfortable bed and linen, and a large modern bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Santos, Hotel Management
Thank yoy for your kindness. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house. Regards, Carlos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Traditional country house in peaceful location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Traditional Portuguese country house style with modern comforts.The setting is very pleasing,lovely garden and pool.
Cons: Breakfast good but would have liked more choice of fruit.Cooked food was not offered to us yet one couple were given fried eggs.Tea/ kettle in room.
Location: Very near to Obidos town.National Park.Coastal town of Peniche a short distance away.Three local homely restaurants within walking distance .
This is a lovely old country mansion very near to Obidos walled town,but thankfully an oasis of peace and relaxation away from the tourist bustle.We enjoyed visiting Obidos town for a few hours: walking the walls,admiring the great views,browsing in the many shops and enjoying a drink overlooking the surrounding countryside.But it was lovely to drive back to Casa d'Obidos and within a few minutes relax in the lovely garden area and swim in the outdoor pool. We had a lovely big bedroom,a very comfortable bed and a large ensuite bathroom.Breakfast was a communal affair - an enormous table shared by ten guests.We were a mix of Australians,French,Dutch,British and German during our three night stay.Conversation was interesting! We enjoyed our visit and can recommend it for anyone wanting to visit this area of Portugal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful guest houses with view of Obidos castle

Posted May 21, 2015
We stayed in the Casa Leonor apartment. It was roomy, clean, and nicely equipped. There are many quiet places within the large grounds to sit and enjoy the gardens and views. The staff was attentive and very friendly. We would definitely book a return stay if visiting the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming house and great Hostess (Marianna)

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Charming, spacious and comfortable
Location: Visit great restaurants and explore the beautiful fortress town
The house and nearby fortress town are beautiful. Marianna the hostess was extremely helpful and gracious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Old Building

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Total environment. delightful room, amazing restaurant interior, nice swimming pool
Cons: Reception confusing
Location: Great castles to visit
A wonderful old buildintg in a great setting. Maybe not laid out like a Sheraton but thats not the point. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was not long enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne from Wilmington, DE

Great hotel for a family

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: drinking a glass of wine on the terrace with view to Obidos Castle
Cons: small bathroom in the appartment
Location: lots of things to do in and about Obidos
Nice location within an orchard far off any street. The Quinta is equipped with pool, tennis court, pool billiards and offers single rooms as well as appartments. Free wifi. Well suited for families - safe ground for children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Friendly, helpful staff in lovely old home

Posted Sep 11, 2011
I highly recommend the hotel. Mariana was very helpful in giving suggestions. The old home is tastefully decorated -- the breakfast room was lovely with a long table so you could easily meet and talk with other guests. There was a lounge upstairs with TV and internet access. No internet access in the room. It is not within walking distance to castle, but an easy drive. The townspeople did not know how to find the hotel, but the tourist office gave excellent instructions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This was really a castle, ancient and elegant, with many comforts like a huge living room at disposal with a pool table and a fire, a view of the castle of Obidos from our window and a good breakfast in an other beautiful dining room! Very romantic and not expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradavel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Café da manhã maravilhoso!! Localização excelente.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by João Silva, Hotel Management
Obrigado pelo seu comentário.Agrada-nos que tenha gostado de estar em nossa casa. Cumprimentos.