Ratings based on 1,270 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Staying there was ok ..so.e of the staff members were good others were rude.overall it waznt tge sah we had expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Easy reach of rail head and city centre

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: A good budget hotel which ticked the boxes.
Cons: Didn't realise that breakfast was not included and this could have been more clearer.
Location: Didn't really have time to site see.
The signal on the TV was not good and the fire alarm during dinner meant we missed some of the food and wasn't offered a deduction or more food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. But that's about it!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: All aspects
Location: Good location in the northern quarter with lots of excellent restaurants and bars near by. Which there needed to be to remove the depressed state the
Hotel staff were not exactly warm and neither was the room. The room was never properly cleaned and certainly the public areas did not smell as if they were cleaned properly either. A through deodorising of the place is recommended! Breakfast was a poor effort. I watched the staff fill the buffet dishes pouring newly cooked food over the old rather than removing the dishes. Neither bar was serving or appeared to be when we tried to get a drink at just gone ten. Room cards constantly did not work meaning treks back to reception. All in all this hotel needs some serious cash injection or demolishing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Poor standards all round

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The whole package
Location: The immediate location is an area were street dwellers/homeless congregate at night, not inviting at all.
This was a very disappointing stay. The best thing i can do is list what was wrong etc, On arrival the foyer was welcoming and tidy the staff on reception where fairly attentive, which made booking in fairly quick for me. The room was on the second floor, on entry seemed very sparse but everything was in place furniture wise. The two pictures on the wall were fastened up with screws through the frame into the wall, you could not miss them. There was no iron or ironing board so we rang reception for one, no answer, had to go down and ask, then call them again 20 minutes later. The bed base had casters on some legs and not others,so it was not level, it creaked every time you moved The bathroom was an experience, the sink surround looked like a dog had chewed it, the lino floor did not reach the bathside, the door frame had been broken and screwed back in place. I went to the upper bar for a drink, after waiting 15 minutes gave up and went downstairs to the bar-restaurant area, still had to wait another ten minutes for staff to arrive. When my partner came down a bit later the same thing happened, she gave up on having a drink as it took too long. On departure it was literally drop off key and go !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Unpleasant experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Only stay here if you're desperate or broke...the staff are so used to people complaining that they've learned to be rudely dismissive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but in desperate need of a refurbishment

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Major refurb required
Location: It's in the Northern Quarter which is where the majority of the bar's, clubs and restaurants are. Also near Piccadilly Gardens and 2 tram stops.
Good location. Friendly staff. Room was very clean. However, the whole place was looking tried and worn out. I did like the art deco building facade and reception area, even if the smoked mirrored ceiling was a bit 70's. The room though clean, the finishes and decor were dated and in the bathroom was especially bad. There was a hole in the wall but the front door. The bathroom ceiling was mouldy and the vanity unit top was worn out (the mdf core was showing). The shower had obviously been replaced at some point as there was a hole in the wall where the old one used to be. Also the louvred glass windows ans secondary glazing didn't close properly sothere was a draft and the noise from the street was very audible. Also when I booked it clearly state I got free WiFi. I found out when I got there that its free for guests in the main foyer and bar areas but if you want it in your room you get 20mins then you have to pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from welwyn garden city

Adequate room

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The room was slightly disappointing considering we reserved an executive suite room with a double bed... And the woman who served us at the desk upon check in was not only rude but lied when I asked about our reservation. She stated there weren't any double rooms availble even though that was what was reserved. When I asked for an upgrade she did give one to us but never apologised for ant mis understanding. The door key stopped working on the second day, so I had to go to the front desk and get it fixed. The only member of staff who was friendly was the blonde woman that helped us with our breakfast, she was a delight to see every morning and was incredibly friendly. I would only recommend this place because of the price and even then I've stayed in a hotel room for £10 more a night and it's been in much better condition than this room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The sheets appeared to be clean. The location was central to Manchester.
Cons: This hotel is in need of a renovation.
My room was windowless and smelled of stale smoke. Ceiling stained from leaks. My young adult children were around the corner in a slightly better room. What was most concerning is that another guest was able to use a key to enter their room while they were there. They other guest quickly apologized and left. There were no chains on the door to prevent further entry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latham St Annes

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Aug 24, 2017
For those of us of a certain age the building is and always was C&A. I have stayed here before and when I can get a deal I will stay there again. All I needed was a place to sleep in a convenient spot. I chose a non smoking room without Windows. I slept well. The room was beautifully quiet, reasonably clean and fit for purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Ehtisham, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We will more than happy to welcome you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

I personally like the retro feel and enjoyed.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Staff was really rude when I called first time to ask for more information about my night there, no customer service, no willingness to negotiate my check in and not flexible at all. When I got there staff just are mutual. Overall I personally like the old feel furniture and the hotel itself minus staff. I really enjoyed the spa. I just think the rooms can be a bit cosier and warmer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Ehtisham, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. We will more than happy to welcome you again soon.