Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarajevo

Great place to stay in the dead center of Manchest

Posted Aug 6, 2017
More than we hoped for the price we payed. Room is clean and comfty enough if you plan to walk around the city most of the day. Canteen is a great addition, you can use it always, it will surprise you how usable it is. Breakfast is decent. Best thing about the hostel is helpful staff, especially Sam from Finland.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weymouth, Dorset

DISABLED + LGBTQIA GUESTS BEWARE

Posted Jul 14, 2017
I arrived at the hostel exhausted after a 9 hour journey from Weymouth, I am autistic with cerebral palsy and needed a bed to recover, the staff at both the Hilton Chambers and Newton Street hostels were very heartless and discriminatory refused me to stay at their hostel because their treatment resulted me to have a meltdown. Besides, the hostels do need refurbished to accommodate disabled guests and could do with a good clean and update as it was filthy. Enough said, if i were you, stay clear from hatters hostels, they were EVIL!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its ok hotel with a good location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
The hotel is very old and not well maintained , the rooms are super tiny, but it was clean and the location is great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down, just about ok

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Run down and even though it was cheap not worth the money. Shame there isn't more local competition or this hostel would be out of business. Quibbled about my booking and asked me to pay again until I argued.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
THANKYOU for your kind hospitality. THANKYOU for everything. l like to be here with you. THANKYOU for your service very appreciated. my stay was good spacious bed didn't expect it. THANKYOU.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near the night life

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The place to stay when you are planning on going out late into the night/morning. Walking distance to many bars and clubs. That does mean it is loud so if that would be an issue for you either go join the party or book a room in a different part of town. The room offers little comfort but is what you'd expect for a low end hostel.
3 out of 5
by Giovanni Yoko

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
The location is good, it is in walking distance from Machester Picadilly St and the bus station. The bed was also comfortable. The shower room provided the shampoo and body soap too. I stayed when the hostel was in renovation, so the floor in the reception place was rather dusty. The room was spacious. However, the roommates (or maybe people with late check-in) were rather noisy in the midnight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There need heating

Posted Dec 7, 2016
It was to cold in the rooms and should have room for children
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast

2 nights 3 days

Posted Nov 20, 2016
I was in Manchester for a long weekend to see friends, I didn't know the area so booked the hotel because of its location. It's in the middle of so much. I found my way around quickly, the hostel is near to the train st and a few bus stops. The room was small, but that's what I expected. It helps to keep people out of their rooms and in the social spaces. The toilet / shower facilities were good, breakfast was simple but provided me with what I wanted so that's another plus! Staff were very friendly and happy to answer any question. A great place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
bed is very small and soft , wifi does not work well