Ratings based on 522 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Wonderful resort with terrible staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The multiple times I have been here the staff 9/10 times are not friendly. The gentlemen at the gate are more welcoming and helpful than the service staff. You have to turn the hot water heater on yourself. Ice maker in the refrigerator will not work in the rooms (the ones I have stayed in at least did not) you will have housekeeping come, as well as at least 2 phone calls around 10 to make sure your relaxing vacation ends because they won't let you stay to 11am like checkout time is. Even after I emailed the hotel twice as well as Expedia with no response back. This is an absolute stunning place to stay hands down but can you really call yourself a resort when the staff is not friendly, helping and just plain out does not care? It's sad when there is much cheaper places around that are 1 and 2 stars with a better staff though and I don't know, running hot water that you don't have to turn on yourself?? Yet again beautiful and stunning place with amazing decor and very clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

PERFECT VIEW

Posted Feb 22, 2017
perfect view and perfect hotel for a weekend getaway..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Las palomas

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views, Nice staff and clean hotel.
Cons: Pillows. Comforters on bed. Fix issues like water leaking through the rooms. Check safety of glass as this could be deadly.
Location: Ocean front. 2 restaurants on site. Lazy river
Upon arrival, everything was great. Horrible storms and wind caused the glass inserts on the balconies to fly off and land on the ground shattering. We were advised to stay in the hotel for our safety. We noticed a pretty serious leak in one of the bedrooms. Rain water was coming in. Third bedroom light didn't work. Pillows flatter than a pancake. No comforters. Just a sheet, very thin blanket and another sheet over that. It was very cold at night. Room was clean. View is beautiful. Staff was nice. I informed the front desk of the issues and they didn't try to fix the situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful location. Beautiful facility.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The room was definitely the best part of the hotel. The staff was wonderful also!
Location: The hotel is beautiful right in the entrance of Puerto Penasco. All of the cool bars are just a 15min drive into town.
We went to Puerto Penasco for the first time for our 4 year anniversary this weekend. Las Palomas was the best part of the trip! The hotel was beautiful, in a wonderful location and the room we were in was so awesome! We would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Great room, facilities under repair, poor staff

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The room condition and facilities.
Cons: Inform potential guests that the hotel grounds are under repair and that this impacts the use of facilities.
The room itself was excellent. But we paid extra to have a sea view and because of repairs to the pool area, we were unable to use the balcony due to noise. The main pool was unavailable because of the repairs, and the adjacent pool and spa that were available were next to noisy tile cutting machinery and resulting dust. When we complained to the reception about the extra cost of the sea view room and our inability to take advantage of it, the only thing they offered was a free meal, which we could not use due to prior commitments. The reception staff was extremely unattentive and excessively bureaucratic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Beach Front Comfort

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The views are wonderful, especially if you get a west-facing unit to enjoy the sunsets.
Cons: Label the hot water heater switch; I needed to turn on the hot water heater and had to figure it out myself
Location: We love Wrecked at the Reef for drinks and Mare Blu for dinner - both a few minutes drive up the road from Las Palomas.
This is our second stay at Las Palomas recently and we really enjoy the facilities, views and comfortable apartments. However, both times hot water was an issue in that the first time the water temperature was not set high enough to afford us hot water. This time the staff forgot to turn on the hot water heater all together and we didn't figure out how to do it ourselves until several of us had taken cold showers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful room, views and grounds

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pool area was great. Choices for adults and children. Food was great at main restaurant or at pool area restaurant. Will definitely stay here again. One bedroom comfortably slept family of 4. Easily could sleep 5.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We had kids and the kids club was closed. The food at the fine dining was pathetic . The deserts are the same in all the menus. Kids pool wasn't heated . Beers choices are few. Breakfast is the best at the Citron.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix arizona

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great hotel. Very helpful staff. Very clean & maintained. So close to the beach. Had a delicious breakfast buffet at citron. Will definitely come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Thanksgiving Holiday Weekend

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Nice view, spacious and huge patio. Like the kitchen and enjoy cooking there with fresh seafood!
Cons: Two things can be improved: One is to provide better quality towers instead those very stiff ones; the other is to provide free Wifi.
Location: Only 15 mins driving to the town, we went to the town everyday to buy all kinds of fresh seafood with great price and cooked them at the hotel, Nice!
This was our second trip to Rocky Point. This time we reserved a 3-bedroom condo on line. But when we checked in and found out it was not "Ocean Front" but "Ocean View" which was quite far from the ocean. After requesting and paid extra $170, we moved to Building F which was closer to the Ocean with better view. It was quite nice with very spacious rooms and patio. We stay there for three nights and enjoyed it very much. The only thing we felt not very convenient was there was no wifi available for the condo we stay. We had to ask front dest for different codes for neighbors wifi.