Ratings based on 979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Comfortable. Beautiful pool. Affordable food.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
There was no smoke detector in the room. I requested one, they said ok but never installed it. Not smart on managements part.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Conveniently close to the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach.
Cons: Service and housekeeping.
Location: Good place if you just want to relax. Not much else to do.
Room was not getting cleaned on a daily-basis. During our 5 day stay the room got cleaned twice (only after requesting several times for it to be done).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fontana, ca

Nice, clean, friendly hotel close to evrything

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, family friendly, access to the beach, good size pool with jaccuzzi and pool bar, great breakfast buffet, close to restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

El personal de recepcion demora demasiado

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Estuvo la estancia regular. Camas muy duras, muy buena pantalla, en la alberca no hay sillas, todos las acaparan los que rentan las cabañas por 250 pesos mas. Hay que caminar a la playa,limpieza del cuarto excelente.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
In general it is ok but they need to improve service. Sometimes the people is a bit rude. The rooms are ok but the beds are terrible, I still have backaches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Casa Grande, AZ

Treated like a local !

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: It was clean and the food was okay.
Cons: The management of this hotel should visit a true international resort to see how things are done. It would help them understand operations better.
Location: Nothing, absolutely nothing. The hotel tries to keep you hostage so they can feed you and take any money you have. There's nothing much.
This Hotel obviously has cash flow problems. They treated me like I was unworthy to have an American Express Card. They have a no cooler policy and their parking is the worst. Seems that all of the employees or locals park there and apparently someone is on the take. The reason I say this is because our of possibly 40 spaces, I only counted 8 autos with parking permits. Something is array. Then there is the $75.00 deposit. I don't know what this was for other than additional charges for something I didn't understand. They also gave us pass cards for pool towels and told us that if they were lost there would be a $25 dollar charge for them. Really ?? Pool Towels. This resort has a lot of local problems. Seems that the pool was filled with local residents. These guests didn't have identification bracelets on and many of them were from town there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tijuana, bc

Agradable ambiente familiar

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Muy buen hotel, a excepcion de los precios de bebidas y comida, ya que no puedes introducir nada de bebidas ni botanas o comida
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tijuana, bc

Hotel con excelentes comodidades

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Muy buenas comodidades, atencion, lo unico que no me gusto es que ahora no puedes introducir bebidas ni comida al hotel, ademas de que todo lo que venden dentre de este , es demaciado caro
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Wish we could stay longer

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The hotel is very nice. The pools and pool bar are so fun and clean. Overall the pool area overlooking the beach compare to other luxury hotels I've stayed at. Now the downsides. I didn't feel out room was left as clean as I would've liked. The floor was always sandy and the bathroom floor was left wet. We got a really cheap rate so this wasn't a big thing. Check in and check out took some time too. They only had one lady helping both times. But they were very nice and I even extended my stay for an extra day because I liked the resort and place that much. It was our first time in rocky point but it sure woint be the last. Lastly, although it has a great beach view for each and every room I believe. The beach is not private. there was a fruit stand right by the beach entrance and their music was blasting through the speakers. My love for the beach and ocean made me overlook this detail but I know if i came with someone else they wouldn't have liked it at all! Maybe even almlst a deal breaker so you've been warned. Overall yes I would recommend this to a friend( and wouldn't mention the music so I make sure they come with me hahaha)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Peñasco del Sol Hotel , Hotel Management
We appreciated your review, we are really happy to attend you, hope to see you soon in our property. Thank you for your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

It is a nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: I liked the pool and the restaurant and how friendly the hostess of the restaurant and support staff were.
Cons: Maintaining the reservation booked. The staff that work at the front desk are overworked too.
Location: There are many restaurants within walking distance.
The reservation was for two master suites, upon arrival we were told they were overbooked and needed to move our two families into a two bedroom presidential suite. The air conditioner did not work and then leaked all over the hallway two days in a row. We finally moved into two separate suites but the suites smelled like sewage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Peñasco del Sol Hotel , Hotel Management
We apreciated your review. As well we been working on more detail about the maintanance of the rooms, we hope to see you soon in our property. Thank you for your stay.