Ratings based on 612 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

空港からは近く便利なホテル

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: ロケーションは空港に近く便利。また、向かい側にレストランもあり夕食には困らなかった。
空港から近いため、ビジネスでの滞在には便利。朝食付きで予約したのに朝食チケットを言わないと貰えない(しかも一度は宿泊費に含まれていないと言われ拒否されたので、他のスタッフに確認してもらい受け取った。)、現地支払いなのに領収書を拒否されるなどフロントの対応にな不満が残った。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
私たちは、場所はあなたの旅行に合わせた、よく機能していることを喜んでいます。私たちは朝食の問題をおかけして申し訳ありません、我々は前進ゲストはこの問題を持っていないことを確認するために、スタッフとこれを確認します。私たちは再びあなたを歓迎したいと思います。 どうもありがとうございました。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Proximo do aeroporto de Dulles e para quem gosta de compras , uma mão na roda .. Tem um shopping proximo e varias outras lojas e restaurantes !
Ficamos apenas 01 noite , mas conseguimos ver que o hotel é ótimo .. Excelente atendimento , quarto super espaçoso e limpo .. Café da manhã tipo buffet , sem muitas opções mas muito bom , e com um preço acessivel.. Não cobra estacionamento o que já é uma vantagem !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Obrigado por se juntar a nós e sendo os nossos hóspedes. Estamos muito satisfeitos aprender que a localização era ideal para suas necessidades, bem como o hotel e amenidades. Nós estamos deliciados que aprender que você tinha uma ótima estadia. Esperamos recebê-lo novamente na próxima vez que você está na cidade.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016
The room and service was wonderful! The staff was very helpful and I would recommend anyone coming into town to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we are delighted to hear you had a great stay and found the customer service and hotel exceeded your expectations. We appreciate the recommendation to others and hope to welcome you again as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upper Marlboro, MD

False Advertisement

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Breakfast at Houlihans was a little lacking...The buffet was weak - had no real options to note.
Cons: Better options at breakfast at restaurant's hotel, have the amenities as advertised to the patrons.
Signs all over the hotel talked about a pool, but when I went looking for the pool, I could not find one. I asked the young ladies at the front dest and they said they didn't have a pool. I specifically booked this hotel as opposed to the Marriott across the street because I wanted my children to be able to swim in the pool while I was in conference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests. Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding with the pool. We had a pool and just closed this permanently a short time ago and we are working as quickly as we can to remove the signage. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: It may have been me, but it was hard to get a comfortable air temperature in my room. It was either too warm or too cool. Excellent HVAC system!
Location: Movie theater across the highway. Fast food within walking distance.
Staff seemed friendly enough, however my stay was cut short due to a sudden change in business criteria. I was expecting a hassle to obtain a refund for one night (not 24 hour notice), but that was not the case. The manager was more than helpful. Good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear there was some challenges with the temperature, we will be happy to have a team member check that for you next time, we don't want you to be uncomfortable. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coastal Virginia

Excellent service, room and amenities.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Near Dulles airport and the Dulles expressway. Close but quiet with a comfortable room.
Large king room with refrigerator and coffee service. Clean, and quiet, just what we needed after an international flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you, we are pleased to hear you had a great stay and found the hotel a great fit for your travel and stay needs. We hope to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Very pleasing stay.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: The location met our needs being in close proximity to our destination and various restaurants.
Overall, this hotel met most of my expectations. We we're just really disappointed because we brought our grand children and booked this hotel because it said it had an indoor swimming pool. When we arrived, we were told that the pool had been closed for 5 days for repair. If we had known in advance, we would have booked another hotel. My grand children were really disappointed. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests, we are pleased to hear you a nice stay but feel terrible for the disappointment that the pool closure caused. We will review this on the website to ensure this is properly noted. We do hope to welcome you back next time you are in town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great location, comfortable rooms. Very friendly, professional staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. We are delighted to learn we exceeded your expectations with service, location and comfort. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Convenient

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Convenient to airport, shopping, and many restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your business. We are pleased to hear the convenient location and services met your expectations and more leading to a pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Disappointing

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Check-in was exceptionally efficient
Cons: Please make sure items such as phones are in working order in each room. Also, update your hotel guide as there is no Wednesday reception.
Was expecting important phone call from the West Coast at an appointed time - caller rang my room repeatedly but phone in room was not working (did not ring). Front desk sent up maintenance man, whom I heard knocking loudly in the hallway on the wrong door. Had to tell him the phone problem was in my room, not the one across the hall. They were unable to fix phone, so they told me I could take the call in another room. Then when I was in the middle of the phone conversation, there was a loud knocking at the door. The head of housekeeping demanded to know what I was doing in another room! I had to take the time to explain to her that my room phone was broken, and that I had been given permission to be in this other room. She gave me a dirty look and left. All of this wasted several hours of my time and staff agreed to extend checkout time. Sorry, but a coupon for a drink at Houlihan's doesn't cut it. Won't be back. Also, hotel guide advertised a Wednesday evening complimentary "managers' reception" happy hour - but when I arrived downstairs asking about the reception, the manager on duty said "We haven't done that in two years."
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued business. We truly apologize for this inconvenience and sorry to hear that you did not have a better experience. We understand the importance of clear communication between departments and regret we did not have this under control. Many times these periodicals are copied from various places and the information can be outdated as unfortunately, you had experienced. We are not aware of the advertisement in hotel guide and will make sure to research this further and update as quickly as possible. I am sorry again you will not return as we know that we are better than what you experienced and welcome the opportunity to show that.