Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent accommodatins

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Ok hotel to stay at if you are looking to save money. Unfortunately it doesn't have a pool or fitness center. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was close to shopping and family members houses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Chantilly. We are pleased to know you not only enjoyed your room and our convenient location but also found us to be a good value. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Very confusing layout. Didn't have access to half the amenities that were listed online.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you stayed with us, but I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. Our front desk would have been happy to assist you in the queries that you had while you were here. We hope to have another opportunity so that we can impress you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate and Convenient

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Clean enough, comfortable enough, convenient enough...just not any more than that. For the price, it isn't too bad and it is quite convenient for Dulles Airport (not as close as some, but those were much more expensive.) If you need a place to spend the night before you fly and you don't want to spend a bundle, this is the place. If you're looking for fancy, this isn't it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We are pleased to know you were comfortable here and that our location close to various attractions of the city was perfect for your needs. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

The room smelled

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We had a layover for 11 hours so we booked this hotel. The room smelled so bad! The tub was not clean. We didnt even want to use the washroom. I would never stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tasha, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every suite after it has been serviced. Unfortunately, we missed something during this process, and for that we truly regret. We are working with our housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily checklists to make sure this isn't repeated moving forward. Please give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Cleanness is number 1
When I arrived at the hotel there were police outside of the renting office. When I arrived to my room it was not properly clean. I called the front desk to let them know and they said they did not have any additional rooms. It was so bad when I showered I had to put towels down on the shower floor. COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED and I wish I could get my money back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
It was disappointing to read your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies, as we never mean to disappoint our guests in any way, and we definitely failed in this attempt. We will be reviewing our guidelines to provide a more wonderful experience for every guest entering our doors. We hope you will consider a future stay as we would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
dirty water (may have been rust) came out of all faucets once or twice...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in your bathroom. We strive daily to provide every guest with a clean, comfortable room. Regrettably, we fell short and for that I am sorry. I have shared your concerns with my maintenance team for quick review and action. We hope you will consider us again so that we can provide you with a better visit. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and well priced hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was perfect for the purpose we meant it - as a stay for the family for 10 nights away from our home while it was being renovated. The room was quiet and large, the beds comfy and the wifi and AC great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your experience. I am glad to see you were pleased with your room accommodations and your overall stay at our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
4 out of 5
by Milton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely not what they advertised
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels