Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel close to everything I need.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff; spacious rooms; quiet neighborhood; comfortable beds; close to work, shopping, restaurants and metro.
Cons: Make sure all rooms have the basics: toilet paper, towels/washcloths, tissues, etc. Have housekeeping monitor hallways & clean as necessary.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. Besides shopping and restaurants, DC and all of it's history and culture is just a short metro ride away.
I am an independent contractor and travel to the Tysons/McLean/Falls Church area 3x week, and I usually stay at the Extended Stay America Tysons Corner. I am always greeted warmly, and while it's not the Taj Mahal, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and they are in the midst of updating the rooms. Michael, the manager, is always willing and able to help, usually going the extra mile to make sure I have everything I need to make my stay comfortable. Whether I've forgotten to pack a particular item or if I need extra towels, the hotel staff is very accommodating and quickly remedies the situation. This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood close to my work, and restaurants, shopping, and public transportation are just a stone's throw away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The team and I appreciate your kind remarks regarding your stay. It is a pleasure having you as well as knowing you receive excellent customer service and accommodations when you visit our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable quality - better than I expected

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff
Cons: More noise insulation from the halls
Location: Very close to nice shopping mall and plenty of eateries
Staff helpful, lobby should be vacuumed more. Room was nicer than expected but the noise from the refrigerator was loud and voices really carried from people talking in the hall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Definitely not the Ritz

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: There are many restaurants nearby and plenty of places to shop. The metro is also close by, convenient for making the short trip into DC.
This hotel is satisfactory--it meets all the basic criteria: convenient, spacious, relatively clean, comfortable beds, etc. However, if you're looking for great customer service and amenities, you won't find them here. Each time I stay I request a particular room (which I rarely get); I do an inventory of basics--are there towels, washcloths, toilet paper, tissues, remote control, hair dryer, etc.--once I get to my room, and 9 out of 10 times, I need to go to the front desk to get what I need. On a good day, they'll provide what I need; other days, I either go buy my own (toilet paper) or do without (washcloth). Since I travel so extensively for my job, I've learned to pack what I need for the most part, so it's not a big deal. Many times the "grab and go" breakfast is non-existent, although they always have fresh, hot coffee in the mornings. The two bright spots of this place are Tony (night CSR/front desk) and Michael (the manager). Tony remembers me from stay-to-stay and always greets me with a smile; he's on top of things and makes sure I have what I need. (Unfortunately, he's moving on, so who knows what kind of service I'll get going forward??) Michael is also very friendly and welcoming and is very attentive and customer service oriented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not being consistent to your expectation every time you arrived. To this, I’m truly. We try to go above and beyond with service, however we’re still improving. I am grateful for the feedback you provided, and noticing the quality of the team we have. Even though Tony is moving on, he is moving up with his carrier. I do agree that Tony has the quality and the eye for details. Moving forward, we are hiring new team members with the same skill set as Tony. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff!
Cons: Kitchen sink backed up after a few seconds of the water running, glad we weren't doing any cooking. Need more options for the free breakfast.
Location: Great location!
Good place to stay, especially if you are staying 3 or more days. Great choices of restaurants, pharmacy, etc. in close-by area. Everything we needed was within walking distance, including DC (walked to Metro station). We arrived on Sunday evening, parked our car, and it remained in the same spot until we left on Wednesday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location walking distance to Tysons corner mall and the metro
Cons: A little noisy on Friday Saturday nights
Location: Tysons corner mall lots of eats shopping , Theater
Had to ask for dishes silverware and toaster and cups but the very clean very good value for the money
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our affordable rates and convenient location a value, despite having to ask for certain amenities you are accustomed to. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jerseyconvenient location

convenient but absolutely no frills

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Room conveniences such as towers and toilet paper.
Location: Convenient, within walking distance of many restaurants and Tyson corner mall
Room ok. Convenient location. Room had kitchen but no pots, dishes, or utensils. Had to go to desk for toilet paper and towels daily. Staff pleasant and responsive. Good hotel if you don't mind no frills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Reading from your survey, I believe you were not informed about the cookware for the fully equipped kitchen as well as the housekeeping cleaning schedule. I am truly sorry for not meeting the value and experience you expect. Our staff will be informed to better communicate this to guests. Thank you again for giving us your review of 3 out of 5. I have shared them with our entire team as well as our Senior Management. We look forward to hosting you once again at Extended Stay Hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Staff was pleasant and helpful. The location was good. The room air conditioner ran all nite at full blast and would not shut of.f. Had to sleep in sweats to stay warm. The room was old. The bathroom shower did not work well - it was loud and gave only a fine mist. Hairs were found in the bathroom.. I cut my stay short and moved to another hotel. I would not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept my apologies about the the a/c and the other issue you endured during your stay. Our maintenance engineer has been contacted to fix the a/c and out housekeeping staff have been address on making sure cleanliness does not slip through the cracks. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel with potential.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The hotel front desk staff is super nice. The room was clean, but had lots of issues that were not taken care of when brought it up. I was on the first floor and the window security latch was missing. Anyone could get into the room from the outside. I reported it, but it was never fixed. The carpet was wet, and shower didn't work properly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that the issue was not addressed. I spoke with my Maintenance Engineer and we will make sure that it does not happen again in the future. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Great location. Felt run down.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Room maintenance i.e Shower Curtin Rod, Door Security Lock. Damage to walls nit repaired properly, etc.
Location: Very close to D.C. and Shopping.
Great staff! Accomodations should have been better. Need much more attention to detail in regard to room maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that our hotel’s appearance was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will work with our staff and make sure we are implementing deep cleaning and preventative maintenance procedures. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amelia, Ohio

Reservation not honored

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Not much to say. It was quiet.
Cons: Mainten ance. Screen falling out of window. Shower curtain bar falling out of wall.
Location: no comment
Reservation made for double occupancy with two queen beds and smoking. When arrived that was not available. Tried tgo substituted with one king bed and a cot. Eventuality acceded to two separate rooms. Frustrating and the hotel staff blamed it on Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that your requested room type was not available upon your arrival. To uphold our company's high standards, we will closely monitor our room inventory moving forward and will make sure we are thoroughly inspecting rooms prior to guest arrivals. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.