Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great Spot

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: We liked how well designed the room was. We had plenty of space with an average size room. Plenty of storage.
Cons: There was renovating going on the floor below us so it was noisy at times.
Location: Lots of shops, bars, etc. Plus a Whole Foods within two blocks. Perfect to get food at their hot bar and eat in!
Nice location near the Metro with a nice walk to the harbor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great all round

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Many small things made everything seem very nice - towels, pillows, complimentary items in lobby, pool, room/bathroom décor.
Cons: Extend swimming pool hours beyond 8pm - maybe to 9pm.
Location: Close to metro station, trolley bus stop, restaurants
Great location - close to metro station and trolley bus stop; close to restaurants. Super clean. Super comfortable. Complimentary coffee, hot chocolate, cookies, and fruit available in the lobby during the day. Plenty of good quality options at buffet breakfast. Very pleasant dining area. Nice little swimming pool area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would go somewhere else

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Nice pool; there is a lifeguard on duty. The hotel is clean and has friendly staff. They have a really nice continental breakfast.
Cons: They seemed helpless: vending machines not working, fire alarm going off, can't find our reservation. They need to take more pride in their facility.
Location: Great neighborhood. Old Town Alexandria with plenty of shopping and restaurants with enough to do to make everyone happy.
Disappointing experience. They are banking on the neighborhood, which is nice. Hotel staff is nice and room was clean. They gave our room to someone else before we arrived so they didn't have us listed. The fire alarm went off in our room the first night but we were told it was "nothing." Elevators are very slow and they were doing construction in one part of the building, so we shared elevators with workers who were moving furniture, construction supplies, and tools throughout the place. Beds are hard and woke up with a backache each morning. Parking is $20 a day, which we were not aware of ahead of time, and it is really tight. We were gone most of the days and only were here in the evenings and to sleep, so it wasn't too bad, but overall, I wished we had gone with a different place.
4 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location; ease of access even with a car
Cons: See above. The hotel is looking a bit worn. Bathrooms have been upgraded; time for the rest.
Location: Awesome location. Step out of the lobby onto a trolley and you're a short ride to the historic area. Couldn't be better.
Excellent location for getting to historic Alexandria; couldn't be easier. Good service; friendly staff. A somewhat older hotel; Hampton could spend some money on a redo.
4 out of 5
by Edward from Charlotte, NC

Great value in Old Town

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Combined business and vacation trip. We've stayed at this Hampton Inn previously and it's an unbeatable location. We had reserved a suite but found out on arrival that the suites were being renovated so we were booked into a double room. Disappointing, but they discounted the room rate and gave us free parking. So, all was well! Room was completely updated, very nice. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Kay from Woodinville

Great location in walking distance of the Metro

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
They were able to put a refrigerator in our room very quickly which was much appreciated. However, we were put in a handicap accessible room which meant no closet, so nowhere to hang up anything. There was no toilet paper holder in the bathroom, and the lights were so dim I couldn't see to put on my makeup. Since the shower head was meant to be hand held and taken down from the wall, you had to stand very close to the front wall if you didn't want to hold it in your hand. The hook on the back of the bathroom door was loose and you couldn't hang up anything. There was no luggage rack, so the suitcases were on the floor. The power button on the TV remote didn't work, so we had to push the button on the TV to get it to power on. Our room was facing the street right in front of the trolley stop, which meant that from 8 am - 10pm every day we could hear the trolley car arrival and departure announcements every hour. Parking in their lot was very tight - if you get back late, there won't be any spaces left and you have to park on the street and then move your car before 7 a.m. There were 4-6 parking spaces in their lot taken up with construction materials. All small annoyances, but the reason I couldn't give it 5 stars.
3 out of 5
by Vernon from lewes, de

Cose too poor

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was young anddid not know the neigborhood. I was sent to a used book store foe a newspaper, they only had used books, and it was closed. We asked about th closest Catholic church the staff did not know. We have always stayed at Hampton Inns, we were not happy with this stay.
5 out of 5
by Donald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Milton from Ecuador

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
great Location, great city, great street full of restaurants and bars, great ambient at night even with the cold wind those May days. Close to DC, close to the Metro Station, clean and extremely confortable beds. Excellent breakfast too, the ladys at the breakfast station were so nice and friendly. I will book back with you and recomend it to my friends.