Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Undisclosed fees

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel itself was nice and clean but the front desk staff was a little illiterate. I was quoted one price online but was given a $250 higher price when I arrived. I opted to pay cash for the room because I knew there was not enough on my card to cover everything. It took her 20 mins to count the money and run my card for the rest, which was parking and incidentals. After taking all of that time, I was finally given the keys and my room. When we got back to the room from our event and dinner, my keys had been deactivated for my room. I went down to the front desk to see what the problem was only to find out that we're showing that they had not secured the fees. After proving that they had taken the money from my account, the clerk wanted me to use the ATM in the lobby and get the money(that they had already taken) and pay cash for parking and incidentals. I refused and he gave me keys to get in my room and stated I would not be able to get in or out of the parking deck for the remainder of my visit. Needless to say I am back home and was able to park in the deck and get out for the next two days. Please train your staff on what good customer service is and let your customers know up front what how the charges need to be handled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sumter, SC

Only one ding on the score

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Beds were extremely comfortable; room was very quiet (even though it was next to vending machines); and the staff was courteous.
Cons: The only reason I took a star off the rating was they charged me $13 a day for internet service. Wi-Fi comes standard at just about every hotel chain
Location: The location was perfect. King Street is the bomb, the location is right next to a Metro Station and only two stops down from Ronald Reagan airport.
I was looking for a hotel in the Alexandria area that was near a metro station. Expedia offered this as a package deal with my airline tickets and I was glad they did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Love how close this hotel was to the metro!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: How close it was to the metro, clean, friendly staff, nice people in the hotel, comfy room, and the quietness. The bathroom was so nicely made!
Cons: parking fee is too much, the room was a bit dusty (lamp by bed, headboard, etc).
Location: King street was great but a little walk away. We just used uber or lyft to get around king street.
Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at this hotel. It was pretty clean, modern, and just everything I wanted in a stay away from home. The only qualm I have is: 1.) room service. When I tried to call the order something at 10PM (they close at 11pm), they didn't pick up the phone the first two times I called. It just kept ringing. There was also a $8.00 delivery fee that they didn't tell me until they got to my door, so I had to pay for it anyways. 2.) front staff not communicating well to their guests. When I first called a day before my check in date, I asked about a late check out time. She stated that this could be done upon request without a fee. Then, the night before I checked out, the front desk person told me I couldn't do that without paying extra. I understand it's usually a fee, but why did the first person told me it could be done without a fee? Then, I asked for a free toothbrush since my companion didn't have one. When I called from the my room, they stated it would be free of charge and to just come downstairs to get it. Later that night, I came down and the gentleman made me pay $3.00 for a toothbrush set that they sold next to the front desk. 3.) our room was pretty dusty. I really liked everything about the hotel: clean, friendly, close to the metro, and just overall nice. But these were the small problems I came across on Feb. 2, 2017.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Great location, home away from home

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The lobby,bar and resturant become your home base and the friendly staff your new friends. Breakfast has abundant vareity of yummy healthy food. Our room was clean and quiet. Just wish we had 2 queen beds, the full size beds were a surprise. Easy to over sleep with the black out curtains. I will definately stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Average

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Average hotel. Hard matress with clean stiff linens. Extra charges of 35$ a day per car to park and 14$ for internet. Room price is about the same as other old town hotels. Will try somewhere else next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

TERRIFIC hotel, Very Close to Metro

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything: Room, staff, cleanliness, restaurant, bar, lobby, close proximity to the Metro, really good restaurants (Theismann's), and Whole Foods.
Cons: Can't think of one single thing that could be improved upon.
Location: The hotel's main door is only 1 minute walk to the King Street Metro Station. Travel into DC, Arlington, etc. was effortless, super convenient.
Our 4-day stay at the Hilton Old Town was beyond wonderful. From the check-in experience all the way to the check-out experience, and everything in-between, it couldn't have been better (no exaggeration!). The staff was so courteous and helpful, our daily buffet breakfasts were delicious with so many options. And very importantly, our room was absolutely wonderful and spacious....beautifully appointed & modern....including the bathroom. And, each late afternoon that we returned to the hotel, our room was put back into perfect condition. All our visits to D. C. will now include staying at this particular hotel, away from the D.C. crowds and the much higher expense of the D. C. hotels. Thank you, Hilton, for such a pleasurable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ORANGE COUNTY, CA

Beautiful Hotel and close to everything

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything was perfect
Cons: More staff. The Hotel seemed to be short of help at times
Location: Absolutely PERFECT location.......no car is necessary to get anywhere in Old Town, the Airports or anywhere in DC
We were in DC for the Inauguration and Woman's March. We didn't want to stay in DC because of crowd issues, so we play caked Alexandria. Needless to say, GREAT decision. This Hotel is right on King Street. And across the street from the Blue and Yellow line train......amazing. The Hilton did a nice job renovating this beautiful hotel. It even has its own STARBUCKS.....Winning!! We will be visiting D.C. Again soon, and we will be regulars at the Old Town Hilton. Thank you Hilton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Elevators need to be clearly marked.
Location: Multiple venues for eating.
Staff are top notch at this hotel. They pay attention and execute all requests for service and amenities in a very timely manner. Front desk staff call to follow up on all requests to assure they were carried out to the guest's satisfaction. I will stay here again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Front desk staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. Could use some improvement on the cleanliness of the rooms...bed skirt was dirty and room did not smell clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The staff is warm, friendly and accommodating. Excellent location and convient for sightseeing.