Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Musty smell, nice pool.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Room seemed clean, but there was a musty smell that was very off putting. Pool was very nice. Restaurant - meh.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
A reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to plenty of options in Old Town Alexandria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from a


Posted Sep 1, 2016
Sad conditions compared to other holiday inn we stayed.... Cheaped and room was not clean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA

Nice stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Went to the Nat's game. Hotel is not close but in a nice area of town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Close to dc and in a very nice area. A walk to the river or all the shops and restaurants was nice. We were very comfortable and felt safe
Cons: The website could be a little more clear and staff needs to be on the same page.
Location: 15 minutes to lots of shops and restaurants and a short walk to the river
It was an overall good experience. I called the day before to ask some questions. I asked about getting a cot for the room. I was told there would be no problem and they would try to make sure we had one. At arrival I asked about the cot and was told we could not have one in our room because of fire codes. After a bit of discussion we were assigned a bigger room at no cost. The room was clean and the hotel was in good shape. The pool was nice. Being half in and out of the building was nice, but the description read more like they had 2 pools rather than one that was just part in and out. It was clean and plenty of towells. The lifeguard was on duty and observant. The walk to the pool was pretty long. There was a bit of a mixup with the restaurant bill, but it was worked out quickly. Most staff was very pleasant and friendly. Helpful in the issues we had. The shuttle was on time, clean and the driver was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, terrible beds!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This was a really enjoyable stay for us. The hotel was lovely and the staff was amazing. They were super friendly and helpful. However, the mattresses on our beds were literally sinking in the middle. The beds were very uncomfortable! The room was otherwise clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel centrally located to everything.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Clean and centrally located.
Cons: The air-conditioning could have cooled off better than it did, as the weather was rather hot in the D.C. area when we were there.
Location: Less than a mile from Kings Street and all the action. Harris Teeter's is just a short walk and they have everything including a pharmacy there.
The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, as there were great restaurants, bars and a fantastic market (Harris Teeter's) just a short walk from the hotel. Good restaurant on the ground level as well.
1 out of 5
by Taylor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lance from Michigan

Too far from Washington DC with slow shuttle.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
The shuttle service to the Metro rail was SLOW. We would see ALL THE OTHER hotel shuttles several times before we would see a Holiday Inn shuttle. Also, what kind of hotel charges guests for breakfast? The food was lousy and cold and overpriced. I will be asking for compensation for these additional charges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
I loved the staff and availability of the shuttle.