Ratings based on 1,326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

Great experience at this boutique hotel!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, beds comfortable, inviting lobby. Clearly very pet friendly inside and out.
Cons: Hard to ID, in advance of arrival, which amenities apply when rooms aren't booked directly through hotel. Handicapped bathroom tools not in all rooms.
Location: Easy walk or trolley ride to metro train, or just stay in Old Town Alexandria. Great restaurants, cafes, access to parks, stores, many sites.
We looked for a hotel in the heart of Old Town Alexandria within walking distance of Carlyle House. This was it! From Hotel Monaco airport pick up on, we were treated very well. Love the lobby, great sofas, chairs, well placed tables with access to coffee and other drinks in the morning, candy stand and games in the afternoon, followed by wine and appetizers in the evening (for about 2 hours per event each day). In the room, we requested a rollaway bed. The bathroom was supplied with full size shampoo, conditioner and bathing gel. The closet was small, however, as we were only staying 2 nights, it was adequate for our needs. Questions asked were researched, if needed. Answers were complete.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Alexandria

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location, room, staff
Location: Right on King Street in the heart of old town. Great location.
Nice hotel, comfortable room, friendly staff. Great location right on King Street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford

Nice Hotel in great location.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: location and cleanliness
Location: The location is prime for walking and shopping.
Hotel was fabulous. The style and setting of the hotel is fitting for Old Town Alexandria.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great location!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We only stayed one night but it was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean beautiful comfortable we felt as though we were at home. Location is very nice nice to walk around with the shops close to the water. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Attentive staff, excellent food and services. Lobby area is very inviting, great to sit in and watch the comings and goings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

My favorite Hotel in Alexandria!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The decor and the lobby are inviting. The rooms are very bright and extremely comfortable. Coffee available in the morning and snacks in the evening.
Cons: The service in the restaurant. I was alone on this brief stay, and it was difficult to get the waiter to come to my table. Please dont ignore singles
Location: The hotel is located on King Street in the middle of a very exciting area. Cafes, shops and the trolley are up and down the street.
Located on King St., shopping and all amenities available. Comfortable and beautiful accommodations with a very friendly staff. Whenever I need to be in DC, I choose to stay in this hotel and I look forward to returning. King Street has restaurants and shops, CVS and Dunkin Donuts...the trolley is available to go to the waterfront and it is just beautiful. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a very sweet and professional check-in staff member and given a token for a beverage because I had just missed cocktail hour. How nice. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilmington, de

Fun Hotel in Great Location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The unique style, casually upscale.
Cons: Parking.
Location: Perfectly located for walking around downtown.
Our 2nd time at this hotel in the heart of historic Alexandria. Staff is welcoming and knowledgable and check-in was a breeze. The 5-6 pm happy hour in the lobby is clearly a big draw as it was packed with enthusiastic wine drinkers, several with their dogs who are welcomed at the hotel. Valet parking is available or you can self park in the underground garage which we did. However the validated ticket didn't work and we had to pay to get out. There is a $29 per day parking charge but the staff were quick to override the charge given our difficulty. Highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel in center of Old Town

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great breakfast close to sights and good shopping and restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Near shopping and restaurants in old Alexandria, walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The perfect hotel for our stay!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: We loved the morning coffee in the lobby, the evening happy hour, the pool, the convenience of parking with in/out privileges, the staff and location.
Cons: It would be great to have a coin washer/dryer on the premises.
Location: The location was great,close enough to the active area of King St. but not so close that it was too loud. Walking distance to many historical places.
We had a wonderful six nights at this Hotel Monaco. It had all of the amenities that we wanted during our trip to DC and the staff could have not been more accommodating. The history of the area was fantastic and the hotel was located right in the middle of so much to see. I would recommend this to anyone who is traveling to the DC area. Great for families, couples, business travelers, etc. Even dogs joined in on the happy hour fun. The courtesy and humor of the staff added to the experience. I can't wait to return!