Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Marble bathrooms, coffee and tea, great restaurant, quiet...I could not love this hotel more. And it is three short blocks to the river where there is an awesome walking/running path. Tons of restaurants and shops right outside the door and a drug store. Seriously it is awesome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: TV was too small for the large room. A bigger screen would have been appreciated.
Location: Very convenient for our purposes: relaxing, walking around Old Town Alexandria, and enjoying some excellent happy hours.
Convenient, dependable hotel. Easy access to the metro using the Alexandria trolley. Lots of places to walk, shop, eat, and drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

Dogs in the Lobby!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The best part of my stay was seeing all the dogs in the lobby Saturday morning. I've never stayed at such a dog friendly hotel. Really loved that!
Cons: I wasn't crazy about the wallpaper in the rooms but that's the only thing I can think of to complain about so they're doing really well.
The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The location was convenient to basically everything (food, shopping, entertainment, transportation) in Alexandria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Would not recommend to anyone

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: The staff, the fees, the accuracy in the rooms, the distance from the metro station.
My stay at the Kimpton Monaco Alexandria was awful. First of all, the hotel staff did not give out accurate information regarding parking and what fees would be charged. They told my husband one price and told me another. On top of that, they charged us for parking on an individual daily basis and a nightly basis so we got charged double. When I spoke with the front desk they said that it was 'just the way it works'. Absolutely horrible. The front desk assigned another couple to the room we were staying in so me and my husband were in bed when additional guests barged in our room, using keys that they got from the front desk! The room looks nothing like it does in the pictures. I understand marketing strategies but it was a far stretch from what they'd have you believe online. Do not stay here! The hotel staff are awful and inconsistent, the room is not the same as advertised, and you'll be charged an arm and a leg in additional fees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The room was clean and very nice. The bed and pillows were perfect. The only issue was checkout...they overcharged me for parking. It wasn't listed on final receipt and I would've never known if I didn't check my credit card statement (this wasn't the credit card holding charge). Quickly resolved, but still a hassle and the reason for less than 5 stars
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: No idea
This hotel is not worthy of the limp Tom name. The staff was very nice but it stops there. I booked this hotel because it has a 4.5 rating and is a VIP + hotel on Expedia. It's a 3 star hotel at best and never once did I get a VIP treatment. To the contrary I think that since I booked through Expedia they have me the worst possible room in the entire hotel. Room was like a Marriott room which is fine but nothing special. It was next to the maintenance entrance so there was loud noise constantly. It was not prepared for my arrival and there was some kind of leak so an entire section of carpet was soaking wet. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. I am also beginning to think that booking hotels through Expedia is a bad idea because I always get treated worse if I do. I'm a gold member w Expedia and I always get shafted when I book with them. This is the third time in a row I've had to complain to Expedia about their "partner" hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Great hotel smack in the middle of the action!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Lovely hotel that has a staff that always goes beyond the ordinary to make your stay special. Don't miss the free wine reception at five! A great place to meet your fellow travelers. Take on the pool of you have time. Lots to see and do on King Street! The hotel has its own fleet of bikes. Take a ride down to Mt Vernon! Or take a boat ride to National Harbor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh,NC

A rare hotel visit where everything was awesome

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Free parking and massage... Kidding.
Location: Excellent food is right around the corner. It's a short drive to DC.
Every once in a while, a visit to a hotel is just positive from start to finish. This was one of those such stays. Available parking was reasonable, with in/out privs and no penalty. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. Their food recommendations were outstanding. The location was perfect, near plenty of food and shopping and easy to get to. The room was very quiet, and spotless. Kimpton always does a great job. I would have a hard time finding something to complain about.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location! King Street Bliss ❤️

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Enjoyed my stay here very much, the bed was very comfortable and bathroom amenities luxurious. Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Lovely hotel in Old Town Alexandria

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Air conditioning fan was noisy and interrupted my sleep.
Location: Many shops and restaurants and the waterfront are all nearby.
I was very satisfied and happy with this hotel. Sleeping room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Wine party and tea and coffee in the lobby were nice touches.