Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Attractive, modern hotel. Great room, slowish front desk, overly expensive required valet parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to DC in a quaint setting

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Close to DC and pricing was good. The SPA seems to be a big draw too.
Cons: I did not see name tags on everyone.
Location: Did not stay long enough.
Although only a one night stay the staff and room was great in the heart of Alexandria. Jose was the valet that evening and he was professional, courteous and friendly. Actually, every staff person was professional, courteous and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, CA

Central location in Old Town, but underwhelming.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
I generally LOVE the experience at Kimpton hotels so I was really excited to stay at the Lorien for the first time. The room was clean and modern, there was a comfy robe in my closet and the staff was kind. It was a good experience but not great. The social/wine hours at other Kimpton locations are one of my favorite treats - typically they are central in the lobby and encourage socializing...the Lorien happy hour was self serve cheap wine off to the side of the foyer. The staff was nice but the phone in my room returned a busy signal when I attempted to ring the front desk - multiple times. I'm not one to typically complain....I guess Im just really surprised to be underwhelmed by a Kimpton property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham NC

Lovely, serene hotel. Great locations.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Rachel at the front desk was just amazing
Cons: Some of the lamps in the room were in disrepair. The room only had one bedside table and could have used two.
Location: the trolly stops right near by so we went all over for free! Try Landini Brothers for wonderful dinner.
We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room wasn't the biggest, or the fanciest, but we had a great night sleep and loved the location. They have spa right downstairs and you can walk to tons of great restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Old Alexandria

pretty awesome

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Get little tucked away hotel right on the old Alexandria strip. If you are looking for a nice get away secluded from everything that has everything this is he spot. Was there for a romantic get away and definitely fit the bill. The large shower room was very nice and quite relaxing. Along with the complementary wine and morning coffee this place was pretty amazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Outside appearance nice, but inside just so so.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The outside appearance was very nice possibly because they repurposed a very nice building in the old section of town. Lobby and restaurant was also very nice appearance wise. I checked in late and had booked a king bed. Once I got to the room I saw two doubles. Normally probably wouldn't have cared except my wife was with me. I went downstairs and asked about the king bed and got the reply they had no more even though at the time of booking they had 4 left and the king was confirmed. The only respond I recieved was "I can call some other hotels and see if the had a room", not really what you would expect. Going back up to the room you can tell the building had recently been renovated or opened, but not necessarily in a good way miss matching paint where repairs had been done. The room layout was also very awkward. Only one small window that was hidden behind a chair as if this room was reall meant to be a closet. Also the description wasn't accurate in my opinion to what the accommodations where suppose to be. Rm. 421. the two double beds didn't sleep well. The really only positive thing I can say is it was quite, but what else would you expect out of a closet. I will not be staying here again and probably by association any of the Kimpton brands in Alexandria.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Couples and Business Travelers

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Outstanding staff, rooms and common areas were very clean, location is just a short walk to the Metro station.
Cons: Give free WiFi! Can't do much about the room sizes, just need to be aware so you don't try to put a family of 4 in one! Bathroom doors!
Location: 3 blocks down from the Metro. Countless shops, historic houses, restaurants and pubs between the hotel and the waterfront. Boats to other waterfronts!
My Wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the Lorien this past week. The hotel is located about a dozen blocks from the historic areas and waterfront attractions in Alexandria with shopping and restaurants of all styles in between. There is a free hop on, hop off trolley running from the Metro station about 3 blocks up, to the waterfront all day and into the evening. But timing is key with the Trolley and don't be surprised if a "full" trolley passes your stop during the peak times of the day! Overall I give this hotel 4 stars primarily due to a couple of things. The size of the "deluxe king suite" we had was very small, but still usable for a single or couple. The bathrooms were very spacious with a huge walk in shower, but the door to the bathroom was a big sliding glass door with large gaps when closed. Better not be too shy if sharing the room because you get very little privacy in there! Finally, no free internet? In this day and age, I would think free internet would be a given. Paying 12.95 a day for internet is very old school and something that could easily be provided complimentary. All this being said, this is a very nice hotel with polite and helpful staff and I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Every single person I encountered was helpful and welcoming. I never felt like a bother. To me, this is why I will continue to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Beautiful hotel in middle of beautiful Alexandria!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Furnishings and location
Cons: Nothing
Loved this hotel!! Perfect detached restaurant for breakfast!! Spinach omelette with Gruyere cheese is to die for!!! Beautiful room and perfect place to stay in Alexandria!! Will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Alexandria hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Upon arrival the hotel staff accommodated me due to some health problems, they were very nice and helpful. The room was very spacious and clean, furnished contemporary, the bathroom very modern and nice and spacious (I got a handingcap room). The bed was very comfortable. I had a fairly big balcony which was nice to sit at night. They serve free coffee in the library, offering flavored homemade syrup. Nice touch. Overall a great hotel conveniently located to Metro Station, at in a long walking distance to old town (15-20min) along King Street.