Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Amazing

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This was the best hotel over all I have ever stayed in would love to go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice hotel but needs better beds. My king bed was soft and lumpy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel ,friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great hotel,friendly and helpful staff. Terrific location to everything. Quiet location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Enjoyed the hotel . But was surprised and dismayed that I had to pay $30 to park my car there! If you're staying there, they should let your car stay for free!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slightly above average

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The wine hour was a lovely treat. The bathroom was great. Location is ideal.
Cons: Have the coffeemaker with a solid selection of coffees AND TEA in the room. Reduce the parking fee. Better signage on street for where to check in
Location: Lots of restaurants. Still a mile walk from the waterfront. Trolley pick-up nearby.
Staff was fairly bland. Not a smile. Not a friendly welcome. No care of gold member status. The feel of the hotel is quite nice. Still a lot of noise from hallway - doors closing and whatnot. Put a chair on the balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Charming & convenient hotel, easy commute to DC

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Staff was helpful. Hotel was beautiful. Excellent food. Very close to the Metro so an easy commute to DC. Plus they left presents for me most days - spa products, Fred water, popcorn. Only minor annoyance is that there is VERY limited overnight room service. Tough when flights arrive late and the room service is already sold out. But their minibar is reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonds, WA

A perfect hotel, in a perfect location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, comfortable. Staff was always ready to help with anything we needed. Seriously: The staff was genuinely happy to help us :)
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom could be a big brighter. Would like to have had the bathroom door fully close for privacy.
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
We were looking for a hotel situated close to the King Street Metro station. Lots of friends recommended The Lorien. Here's why we had a great time: VERY warm, helpful staff, Free coffee in the morning, quiet, clean room. Not too big, not too small. Starbucks within walking distance. Lots of choices of many different restaurants within walking distance. Caught a cold on the last day of vacation and there were three pharmacies within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love Kimpton Hotels

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This is an excellent hotel with friendly staff that makes you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from williamsport, pa

Perfect for a weekend

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel was well maintained with a very efficient staff, willing to make your stay pleasant.
Cons: The room was a little noisy and the mattress a little firmer than I prefer.
Location: The location of the hotel is ideal; King Street is the hub of Alexandria for dining and atmosphere. It is also only about 3 blocks from the metro.
The hotel was in great condition with a very pleasant, helpful staff. Even the gym facilities were better than most hotels. Everything was first rate with the restaurant a little disappointing but certainly not a bad experience. I did feel that the wine bar restaurant was over-priced for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

This hotel is convenient clean and comfortable.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We were greeted very warmly and given excellent instructions and information about the area. The staff offered us a free happy hour in the lobby. We checked in to a beautiful corner room that was super clean and very relaxing. We enjoyed the wine and our stay.