Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frederick

Worth every penny

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I was very impressed with this hotel. It has a chic modern feel with a vintage touch. The room was spotless and it smelled fresh. The location is ideal becaus king street has everything you need. The trolley stops just a few steps from the entrance as well. I will defiantly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Julie A. , Hotel Management
Ashleigh, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We love our guests and appreciate when they love us back! I'll be sure to share your feedback with our staff and we hope to see you again soon. Warmly, Julie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Unfriendly staff and small facility

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. One day they even told us and others sitting in the only sitting area the hotel has, to leave as they needed it for a wedding. They didn't even say sorry. There is limited public space and even their outside sitting area is open to the public
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Branch, NJ

Nice but not as economical as you might think...

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, polite staff.
Cons: The ridiculously priced overnight parking charge is unnecessary and the WiFi is something that should be free to your guests.
Location: Old Town Alexandria and geographical proximity to the whole D.C. area.
I was surprised to get a motel room on July 4th weekend as economically as we did. But, we actually didn't. Ninety nine percent of the motels/hotels I've very stayed at have had free, on site parking. The Kimpton Lorien not only has off site parking, but they charge you $32 per night for the service. While the valets we dealt with were polite, when we returned to our room from dinner, we had to circle the block several times before we encountered the valet and didn't actually find him until we left our car on the street and came looking for him. Remember to bring your hotspot also because the WiFi isn't free either. The staff we interacted with were polite, but my honest impression was that it was supposed to be our privilege to stay there, not the other way around. Folks, I stay in a lot of motels and, while I know location may constrict you sometimes, I've had better and cheaper service at some of the chain motels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleepless in Alexandria

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Staff was accommodating .Manager listen to our issues and said to contact her before our next visit .The Restaurant 'Brabo' was excellent.
Cons: Rooms need a 'face lift' ... need to address level of air conditioner noise and placement of vent air flow.
Location: This is a Dog Friendly Hotel and Spa located on King Street Old Town Alexandria. Was only there for Dinner and one night 'Stay Over'.
Room was 'shop worn' and needs updating. A Noisy air conditioner vent blew cold air over bed all night... at 69 -70 degrees, it was " a sleepless night spent in a meat locker". If you don't have a good night's sleep, its difficult to recommend this hotel to others... but, we will try one more visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow

Good hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Very nice hotel but a little disappointed that the only parking available was valet parking which was expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No bathroom privacy in rooms

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The courtyard is charming. Proximity to old town and trolley is perfect.
Cons: Get bathroom doors that close to provide toileting privacy to guests. Upgrade the elevators, they look like service elevators. There were "leftovers"
Hotel bathrooms have been remodeled with sliding glass doors that do not close or seal!! Other misfortunes of this hotel are the limited public seating to visit with other guests. During our entire stay, library access was off limits due to "private" events. The lobby has one small area with a circular bench right next to the door which makes relaxing and discussion nearly impossible. The Hotel has a charming courtyard that can be used for seating once the restaurant closes, other than that "hanging out" in the bedroom with limited seating is the only way to visit with fellow travelers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Very Disappointed, Overpriced and Understaffed

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location in Alexandria. It was clean. Spa is good and the restaurants are good.
Cons: Improve the parking experience or make some large signs to indicate where to check in. Forget the bougie mini bar and give people some coffee makers.
Location: This is located on a main thoroughfare in Alexandria which is delightful to walk on, brick sidewalks, free trolley, shopping and dining.
Valet parking is expensive but your only option, hotel needs a breezeway to connect to unloading space because we had to walk across an open courtyard to the main entrance and got soaked after we left our car. Room was a huge disappointment, one small window which opened to an adjoining room balcony, not any view of any kind. Sparsely furnished and sterile in appearance, I found it lacking in accommodations (no in room coffee maker, bathrobes are tired with scrunched up shoulder pads sewn in, no mini-fridge for your items unless you unload their mini-bar items). The bathroom is a standard tub, one sink, and has a slider door with a 2"+ gap on either side so you can literally see someone in the bathroom if they are in the shower or on the toilet. Virtually no privacy. There is cable and free wifi. The restaurants are VERY good, but I recommend making reservations. Breakfast not included and service is a bit slow. Very small space but the food was tasty. Spa was ok, steam room was broken and only 3 small showers. Spa treatments were good, however. Just a little overpriced like everything else. I would not stay at this hotel again as I've had bigger and better rooms at Hampton Inn. The spa and restaurants worth a visit, but get a better value down the street and don't stay at the hotel. Housekeeper didn't make it to clean the room when we were there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VT

Great location, needs an upgrade.

Posted May 4, 2017
The staff at the hotel were excellent, they immediately solved any issues or concerns. However I would not stay there again, the rooms need an upgrade. The desk chair had worn completely through the leather and had pen marks all over it. There was a crack in the tile from the ceiling all the way down to the vanity in the bathroom. I had a light fixture with no light bulb. And the paint job was really sloppy. So great staff and location but that's it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
It's a lovely hotel right in Old Alexandria, close to quaint shops, the water and the Metro to visit D.C.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Great hotel and staff.

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was perfect! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Frances at the front desk was the best. She always smiled and went out of her way to make everything easy. The hotel is on King Street, just a block or so from the Metro with lots of local shops and restaurants. Pretty spa and work-out room. My only slight negative is that there is no coffee in room but it is abundantly available in the lobby living room and nobody cares if you come down in sweat pants and tee shirt! I will book a return visit.