Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love Kimpton Hotels

Posted Jan 11, 2017
This is an excellent hotel with friendly staff that makes you feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from williamsport, pa

Perfect for a weekend

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel was well maintained with a very efficient staff, willing to make your stay pleasant.
Cons: The room was a little noisy and the mattress a little firmer than I prefer.
Location: The location of the hotel is ideal; King Street is the hub of Alexandria for dining and atmosphere. It is also only about 3 blocks from the metro.
The hotel was in great condition with a very pleasant, helpful staff. Even the gym facilities were better than most hotels. Everything was first rate with the restaurant a little disappointing but certainly not a bad experience. I did feel that the wine bar restaurant was over-priced for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

This hotel is convenient clean and comfortable.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We were greeted very warmly and given excellent instructions and information about the area. The staff offered us a free happy hour in the lobby. We checked in to a beautiful corner room that was super clean and very relaxing. We enjoyed the wine and our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Some of the staff had a demeaning attitude, not necessarily rude but spoke in a way that seemed belittling. The Tasting Room restaurant was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington

The bathroom door

Posted Dec 11, 2016
The bathroom door is not at all sound proof. In addition, even though the bathroom is gigantic, the toilet is right on the other side of the door. Can create uncomfortable situations. Otherwise the hotel is gorgeous and the staff fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from corpus christi

Alexandria and Dc

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Great location with a wonderful staff
This a great place to stay! Easy to get to DC, the airport and old town Alexandria. Some nice shops as well as fantastic restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Calm boutique hotel in best location on King St

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Location. Boutique feel. Calm, low light, modern lobby. Lovely room with good amenities (desk, lights, fridge, TV, plugs, towels, crisp, white sheets)
Cons: The rainshower doesn't have a very high flow - adequate to get the soap off, but not steaming...more like a "light spring shower" than a "downpour".
Location: 2 blocks from King St Metro station. Take the FREE trolley up and down fabulous King St for shopping, sightseeing, art, antiques, restaurants.
Stayed here twice so far. Unbeatable location, 2 blocks from King St Metro station (walkable). King St station is only 2 stops from Reagan Airport: breeze on to the Metro, 2 stops, walk off Metro and 2 blks to hotel. Beautiful, calm feel when entering hotel lobby, dark stone, herbal spa fragrance, calm lighting. Std King room has lovely crisp white sheets and modern bathroom with walk-in rainshower. Large flat-screen TV. Lovely armchair with its own floor-lamp and afghan draped over it. High-end feel. Brabo's Tasting Room for breakfast - I ate the spinach omelet and gruyere potato cake every day, with fresh OJ. Didn't try the other items: Belgian Waffles, Egg/Bacon/Toast, French Toast... They do allow dogs. I'm fine with that. Over 4 days, I met 5 or 6 large dogs in the elevator or lobby, other than that, I never noticed them. My place to stay in Alexandria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Lovely hotel.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Near Old Town
Clean, reasonably priced, quiet. Very friendly staff. Great deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Fantastic Hotel in Old Town Alexandria

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Great customer service and a lovely room.
Cons: Can't think of a thing...
Location: See above - so much to do and see! Stay a few days for sure!
Beautiful, clean, and well-run, with friendly staff and excellent service. A 3 minute walk to the Metro, and right in the center of all the shopping, dining, and cultural experiences OTA has to offer. We had a blast! Hot coffee and papers in the morning, too, and happy hour at 5. Fantastic!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clt.

Horrible experience

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: We can't find much to like about it. Polite valets.
Cons: Dorm sized rooms, horrible insulation with very loud closing doors and narrow halls, AC unit kept us awake all night...one of the worst stays I've ever had at any hotel.
Location: Not a great location. We were led to believe (from the sister-hotel Monaco) that it was very close. It's NOT. It's VERY Far from classic Old Town.