Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATL

The room was "below decks" .. I saw ankles.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: It is what it is
Location: Everything is close by
It was average. I didn't like staying on the lower level adjacent to the alley wirth views of people's ankles walking by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly helpful staff, good value

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great location, friendly staff and exceptional room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

Morrison Hotel, Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Good location Tasteful
Cons: See above
Location: Easy travel on free shuttle bus from Waterfront to Station Convenient Metro nearby for travel into DC
A very nice hotel in a good location close to shops/bars/restaurants and the water front. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. On the downside it was rather expensive, particularly as there was no free wifi and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old town meets modern comfort

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Bathroom could use some maintenance or even a remodeling, to match the room level and the hotel building renovations.
Location: Great location, very walkable to shops, dinning, and all the attractions that Old Town Alexandria has to offer.
Great overall experience in Alexandria, in beatiful Old Town, great location, all the comfort of today wrapped in a well kept old brick building, testfully renovated with a very charming front patio area.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Boca Raton

Right in the middle of Old Town

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great location for walking around Old Town. Right in the middle of everything. Room was comfortable and clean. Parking can be a little tricky if you don't use the valet given it's urban location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not week refurbished

Posted Apr 22, 2016
The hotel website claims that it was refurbished recently, but it looks like all they did was to repaint the rooms. The bathrooms and rooms don't look like they got new furnishings or hardware. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, Friendly staff!

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location, friendly staff, great service.
Cons: Cleanliness. A little mold in bathroom, first assigned room was not ready for occupancy, but we were quickly upgraded!
Location: Right in the middle of Old Town Alexandria. Convenient to Metro, free Old Town Trolley, shops and restaurants.
We were one of the last guests before their three-month rehab. Despite closing soon, the hotel was still in great condition. The staff upgraded us to a much larger room when our original room wasn't cleaned to their standard. Service was perfect. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right in the middle of Old Town - no rental car required! You are within walking distance to all the sights and shops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you Marc for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the all new Morrison House with the same great service in April!
5 out of 5
by Ray from Birmingham

Delightful historic hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
An old historic hotel in a great location. It is beginning to show a little wear and the owners need to spruce it up a bit, but it is a delightful hotel in a great location. It is a good walk to the metro if that is part of your plan.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you Ray for your 5 star review. We are currently closed for a top to bottom renovation, and look forward to welcoming you back in April!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Feels like a home

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to in Old Town Alexandria, close to many restaurants and shops
Cons: Upgrade the clocks to current cellphone technology and more electrical outlets
Location: Bittersweet Catering Cafe and Bakery has reasonably priced menu, great shopping on King Street
This was my second stay. All staff are friendly and beyond helpful. The rooms are a nice size and comfortable. The welcome card and cookie are a nice touch. The honor bar has a very nice selection of items available. My daughter wanted a snack late that night and one of the staff gave her a bowl of kettle corn. That was very appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back home again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Excellent hotel. Comfortable stay again. The facilities are nice but can use some repairs of numerous signs of wear and scruff marks that have not been maintained. Eat elsewhere. Food and drink services overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you for your excellent review! We are currently renovating the hotel and restaurant top to bottom and look forward to welcoming you back to see our shiny new look in April.