Ratings based on 546 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Couples and Business Travelers

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Outstanding staff, rooms and common areas were very clean, location is just a short walk to the Metro station.
Cons: Give free WiFi! Can't do much about the room sizes, just need to be aware so you don't try to put a family of 4 in one! Bathroom doors!
Location: 3 blocks down from the Metro. Countless shops, historic houses, restaurants and pubs between the hotel and the waterfront. Boats to other waterfronts!
My Wife and I had a very pleasant stay at the Lorien this past week. The hotel is located about a dozen blocks from the historic areas and waterfront attractions in Alexandria with shopping and restaurants of all styles in between. There is a free hop on, hop off trolley running from the Metro station about 3 blocks up, to the waterfront all day and into the evening. But timing is key with the Trolley and don't be surprised if a "full" trolley passes your stop during the peak times of the day! Overall I give this hotel 4 stars primarily due to a couple of things. The size of the "deluxe king suite" we had was very small, but still usable for a single or couple. The bathrooms were very spacious with a huge walk in shower, but the door to the bathroom was a big sliding glass door with large gaps when closed. Better not be too shy if sharing the room because you get very little privacy in there! Finally, no free internet? In this day and age, I would think free internet would be a given. Paying 12.95 a day for internet is very old school and something that could easily be provided complimentary. All this being said, this is a very nice hotel with polite and helpful staff and I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Every single person I encountered was helpful and welcoming. I never felt like a bother. To me, this is why I will continue to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Beautiful hotel in middle of beautiful Alexandria!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Furnishings and location
Cons: Nothing
Loved this hotel!! Perfect detached restaurant for breakfast!! Spinach omelette with Gruyere cheese is to die for!!! Beautiful room and perfect place to stay in Alexandria!! Will definitely be back!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Alexandria hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Upon arrival the hotel staff accommodated me due to some health problems, they were very nice and helpful. The room was very spacious and clean, furnished contemporary, the bathroom very modern and nice and spacious (I got a handingcap room). The bed was very comfortable. I had a fairly big balcony which was nice to sit at night. They serve free coffee in the library, offering flavored homemade syrup. Nice touch. Overall a great hotel conveniently located to Metro Station, at in a long walking distance to old town (15-20min) along King Street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The hotel employees were super accommodating and friendly! The rooms were also very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tobias, Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, Thank you for choosing the Lorien Hotel & Spa for your recent trip to Old Town Alexandria. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back into our area. Yours, Tobias
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Classy charming boutique hotel with character

Posted Apr 26, 2016
I spent my birthday here. Beautiful charming hotel with lots of character. Walking distance to restaurants, bars and pier. Complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres nightly. Clean and classy decor. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Quiet with lots of space and nice courtyard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2016 by Tobias , Hotel Management
Happy Birthday George! Thank you for spending your special day with us and thank you for the great feedback. Please come back to see us again soon. Yours, Tobias
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Tobias, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to see that your enjoyed your experience. Please come back to see us again soon. Sincerely, Tobias
5 out of 5
by Linda

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Tobias, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great rating. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Tobias
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was good but website showed large bathtubs witch is why we booked and our room only had a shower. When we asked about it they said they only had 5 rooms like that but nowhere did it say that kinda a big disappointment wanted to cancel but was told I would still have to pay so we stayed