Ratings based on 1,579 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Comfortable for a family

Posted Jun 6, 2017
We were visited family in the area and the hotel was perfect for our needs. We had a toddler in the pull out bed and a baby in a travel bassinet we brought. The breakfast was good and generous. The staff was friendly and helpful and we were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Good location and it was nice to have the grocery store so close by. We used it a lot.
Cons: Extend the pool hours
Location: Harris Teeter and Trader Joes were both convenient. The hotel was a nice walk to Old Town through a very pleasant residential area.
We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. My only complaint is the room was quite small for two adults and one child. As with most hide-a-bed couches, it was not very comfortable. However the king bed was great. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job! The room was always nicely cleaned when we returned from our day away. The pool hours could be extended for those who which to use it. The shuttle service was great! We especially enjoyed our driver, Kevin. He had a great sense of humor and was lots of fun! He was one of the highlights of our trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great

Posted May 23, 2017
Bathroom doors were difficult to close and noisy. Bedroom doors were clear glass and NOT PRIVATE. TV remote had a dead battery. Card key did not work for access to garage - what a pain!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by A Matter, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, thank you for staying with us and completing a survey. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings in your room. The good news is that we are in the final stages of designing a full renovation. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service when your travels bring you back to Old Town Alexandria. Regards, Alfred Matter General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Understated quality and comfort in Old Town

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location (close enough, quiet enough), quality and condition of room furnishings and pet friendly aspect.
Cons: - Keys to room de-magentized everytime - Costlier than most - Steps in front uneven and caught my foot walking. I tripped.
Location: Close to King Street, waterfront and Trader Joe's. Great restaurants across the street and further on King Street.
Nice to have a room so comfortable in a quieter part of old town that was just close enough to the action. Only issues were with the keys being demagnetized everytime used.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit to DC

Posted May 6, 2017
Nice place to stay A little bit of walk to King Street but not bad Great pasta restaurant across street Hotel restaurant & bar mediocre Good airport shuttle service & can catch metro at airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Short driving distance to Nationals Park

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Stayed here for a nationals game. Easy drive. Short distance. Away from all the crowds but surrounded by plenty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Very nice hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We stayed one night at this hotel after touring Old Town Alexandria. It is a lovely hotel, but located a little further from "the center" of Old Town than we thought it was going to be. Would have had to drive back in to restaurants ( we felt it was too far to walk), so we ate at the hotel - which was fine - but not as interesting as an old tavern!
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about the hotel was great except the room service that we ordered. The $12 waffles were not as described and had $10 in fees. We don't normally order room service, so maybe this is standard at all hotels, I don't know. But we felt ripped off, especially given the quality of the food we received, and would recommend against ordering room service and going to one of the many great restaurants nearby instead.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel... parking expensive and parking garage is very difficult to park and potentially I can see car damage due to cars can not fit into spors
5 out of 5
by Dale H.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels