Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Nice Stay

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Went for a morning run near the University Campus... Great for running. Breakfast was not crowded. Staff is great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, NJ

Good Experience!!!

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Loved it!!!!! Its was clean, staff was nice, the breakfast was good, the bed and couch was comfortable, and i love that the toilet and sink was in one bathroom and the shower and vanity was in another bathroom....The pictures on the website is exactly what you get....I been on website before that look one way and when you get to the hotel looks nothing like the pictures online... I will stay at this hotel every time i visit VA...and I only paid $82 a night...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Mar 18, 2016
My son and I had a quick trip to DC, The motel was clean and friendly. The room was very nice. I would recommend it. The room would fit a family nicely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo ny

Posted Mar 17, 2016
The absolute best hotel for the price in the area!! Everything was clean with an upscale feel. Our room was very spacious.Will definetly stay here again when i visit DC this summer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken AC

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Booked a King Size... Had two Queens AC was broken could not shut off. Had to place a blanket over it. Bathroom walls had liquid or some substance stained on them. Furniture in room looked worn down. I am Military and have slept in by far much worse places so on check out I just told them the AC was broken when questioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay, we pride ourselves on delivering excellent service and amenities. We have shared your feedback within our organization, and we will make sure corrections are made for your next stay, as well as other guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Great location, wish the pool was warming. Staff at front desk weren't very personable. Nice breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize about your experience here; we will be sure to greet you with a warm welcome and a smile next time your travels bring you back to Ashburn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEAUTFUL HOTEL

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: DECOR AND CLEAN
Cons: SETTING FOR THERMOSTAT MORE USER FRIENDLY, VERY SMALL POOL
Location: UPCOMING AREA
AIR CONDITIONING BLOWING INSTEAD OF HEAT, DIFFICULT TO DETERMINE SETTINGS FOR THERMOSTAT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our decor, and that we were able to keep the hotel clean. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with our thermostat, it is a little confusing to get the hang of. In order to make heat come out, you have to set it to a very high setting, and then adjust the temperature down to the level you want. Because they are energy efficient units, it takes a little bit more in order to get them to the desired temperature level. I am sorry again about the inconvenience, and if there is anything else we can do to make your stay better next time, feel free to let us know!
5 out of 5
by Marie

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by Tawanna

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us, we hope to have you back again!
5 out of 5
by Karen from Liverpool, NY

Central Gatherings

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I were there to attend a funeral for a family member. The hotel was wonderful and convenient to family. The only draw back was the lack of reasonably priced restaurants. We went to D.C. Prime for dinner. Dinner for two was a shocking $156 with tip. This dinner cost more than our per night room at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Alan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is good to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We do have other more reasonably priced restaurants in the area surrounding us; it is a complex called One Loudoun across the highway from the hotel. These restaurants would be more fitting to your needs, and there are a lot of options to choose from. Thanks again for your feedback, and we offer our condolences to your family.