Ratings based on 1,511 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not the best, but not the worst Marriot I've stayd

Posted May 23, 2017
Booked this hotel online, having never stayed there or in Alexandria before. Nice hotel, in a great location, reasonable lobby, and rooms overall were clean. Most of all we found the frontline staff (doormen, bell hops) were excellent. But - and hence the low rating - the room was old and tired, which for the cost to stay there I found out of line. The leather headboard in the room was cracked and dirty - left us wondering if the rest of the place was unkept, not something we paid for nor expect a good hotel chain to let happen (I would expect they'd have their cleaning and maintenance crews on the lookout for things like this and to change ASAP). And while they issued a credit, that was only after speaking to front desk a couple times to try to report this (when they ask how is your stay so far, I answered honestly!) and for them to finally take ownership of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice and very safe location.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, the comfort and cleanliness.
Cons: Rate is a little too high.
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurants.
I only stayed 1 night for a business trip. Hotel located in safe area in old town, very close to restaurants and shops. Staff was very helpful & friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5-Star Location, 3-Star Amenities

Posted May 12, 2017
Historical building with friendly staff. However, there is much to be desired when it comes to amenities in-room. No coffee-maker? No problem. Leaking toilet that's making a ton of noise all the time (plus a really loud AC)? Problematic. The location is really hard to beat though. The hotel is on King St. so easy access to the trolley, and a short walk away from the water front, with lots of restaurants and even a CVS nearby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over designed, service lacking.

Posted May 7, 2017
Staff was friendly when I encountered them but room service was out of what I ordered and had no other healthy options, my room was never serviced by housekeeping for two days, and I asked for a razor and they never delivered. Also this hotel is over designed with too many colors and patterns it's way to busy this style does not have a relaxing feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Night in Old Town

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Excellent condition and cleanliness. Excellent staff.
Location: Browse Old Town.
It was great to be right in the middle of Old Town Alexandria -- so nice to go out and walk about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alexandria, VA

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: convenience
Location: good restaurants and shops
convenient to highways and in the middle of Historic Old Alexandria, we enjoyed walking the city feeling safe, night and day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Business - VA/DC

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking fee Staff (Midnight Staff)
Location: Business trip in VA & DC
Pro: Great location Con: $32 Overnight parking Scalding hot water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, helpful staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The hotel is right on King Street, so it's easy to explore Old Town Alexandria by foot. The front desk clerk who checked me in made me feel welcome not only in the hotel but also in the city by giving me a brief summary of the attractions near the hotel (waterfront, shops). My room was lovely: clean, lots of light, and plenty of outlets. Although I'm not a Marriott rewards member, they gave me the WiFi password so I could access internet in my room. I only stayed here for one night, but I would definitely recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Historic hotel well situated

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location historical architecture great bed
Cons: Hotel needs to ensure bathroom is running properly before assigning it
Location: Walking distance to everything in downtown Alexandria
Hotel well situated in Alexandria Our room was in the far top corner of the hotel therefore it took more than five minutes of running the hot water tap in order to receive tepid water Other issue toilet ran very slow and was blocked had to call housekeeping a number of times to get this issue rectified In future we will ensure we have a centrally located room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2 things to be aware of

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Location: Take the metro to connect with the Trolley Hop on Hop off at Arlington National Cemetery.
Over all nice place. Be aware that WiFi is abut $10 per day. (its 2017, most hotels provide free WiFi) Parking is about $38 per day (self parking). If you look across the street from the parking garage entrance, you'll see a parking garage for $10 per day.