Ratings based on 1,525 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Funky and comfy

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Conveniently located in Old town, in between all shops and restaurants. Waterfront is only 5 mins away on foot. The hotel's restaurant is excellent also. Parking super convenient. Decor is eclectic. Room was clean and fresh with city view. The extra outlets and USB port on the night stand was a super plus! I couldnt regulate the shower's hot water so i had very steamy showers but the water pressure was excellent. Overall great little hotel. Will stay here again if i am ever in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very pleasant staff. A/Cenfa unit wouldn't turn off. But the staff responded in a more than timely manner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was nice.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel very nice but clearly no longer a kimpton hotel..... work being done in hallway at 8am.... when front desk was told response was oh.... sorry. A great place to stay if you get a discounted rate. Overall I was happy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PUYALLAP. WA

Hotel ideally situated

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Hotel was easy to get to and the front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming COMING BACK SOON
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great and convenient location Helpful staff and nice spacious rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful small town location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Wonderful boutique hotel definitely will come back again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Very Disappointing Stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The lobby was nicely decorated nicely.
Cons: The staff needs to get their act together.
Location: The hotel is located in Alexandria, a little town with many eateries, shops and homes to explore. It is a short ride to the capital by cab.
1. The first night we were awakened due to a barking dog at 12:00 AM, 6:30 AM and 8:00 AM. We were not told this was a dog friendly hotel by Expedia or when we checked in. We were told you have to ask for a "dog free floor". We were told the first day by staff that the dog had checked out. 2. When we returned to our room on our first day, the room was not locked. 3. The glasses we used the night before were not changed. 4. We were listening to the same barking dog so we changed rooms. 5. We had ordered room service breakfast the first day. When we changed rooms there was no menu in the room. My friend went down to the desk to get one. The staff did not know where they were and said they would bring one to our room, which they did. 6. The next morning we did not receive the wake-up call we requested the night before. 7. When our breakfast did not come at the time we asked, we looked in the hall and there was no breakfast. One of these thing alone would not be a reason to complain, but all of them put together made this stay very disappointing. This hotel had been highly recommended. I certainly would not recommend this hotel to anyone. This hotel was recently sold to another hotel chain. Seems like the staff has not settled in yet to the determent to its guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not the best, but not the worst Marriot I've stayd

Posted May 23, 2017
Booked this hotel online, having never stayed there or in Alexandria before. Nice hotel, in a great location, reasonable lobby, and rooms overall were clean. Most of all we found the frontline staff (doormen, bell hops) were excellent. But - and hence the low rating - the room was old and tired, which for the cost to stay there I found out of line. The leather headboard in the room was cracked and dirty - left us wondering if the rest of the place was unkept, not something we paid for nor expect a good hotel chain to let happen (I would expect they'd have their cleaning and maintenance crews on the lookout for things like this and to change ASAP). And while they issued a credit, that was only after speaking to front desk a couple times to try to report this (when they ask how is your stay so far, I answered honestly!) and for them to finally take ownership of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice and very safe location.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, the comfort and cleanliness.
Cons: Rate is a little too high.
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurants.
I only stayed 1 night for a business trip. Hotel located in safe area in old town, very close to restaurants and shops. Staff was very helpful & friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5-Star Location, 3-Star Amenities

Posted May 12, 2017
Historical building with friendly staff. However, there is much to be desired when it comes to amenities in-room. No coffee-maker? No problem. Leaking toilet that's making a ton of noise all the time (plus a really loud AC)? Problematic. The location is really hard to beat though. The hotel is on King St. so easy access to the trolley, and a short walk away from the water front, with lots of restaurants and even a CVS nearby.