Ratings based on 1,632 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo

Took A Chance

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The rooms were spacious and had an apartment feel.
Cons: It could use major updates. The beds were very small.
Location: It's very close to downtown DC. A ten minute Uber ride.
I chose this hotel because I wanted a frugal spot not too far from DC which was the focal point of our trip. The hotel is nice. It could use updates in the rooms and hallways, but for the price it was pretty good. I recommended this hotel and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Sep 19, 2016
A bit off the trail, but in a very good spot if you are interested in walking to Iwo Jima, Arlington Cemetery, or even across the bridge to the mall. It's old and not as hip and cool as most of the competition. Room smelled a bit. Breakfast is underwhelming and the gym is not great, but right for the cost. A value considering location and amenities. Shuttle to metro or 5-10 minute walk. Nice and helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Having a complete (albeit dated) kitchen is a plus, especially for longer stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Didn't Die

Not What It's Worth

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: I didn't die and my car didn't get broken into
Cons: A fridge that worked and sticking that phone where the sun don't shine for whoever called us at midnight. How bout some breakfast too
Location: Nice hole in the wall bar across the street at the Best Western with good food and good prices
Horrible experience from the unprofessional front staff to the fridge that didn't work a bed that caves in the middle and the phone calls at midnight take my advice and find a different hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Sep 2, 2016
We were very pleased with the staff who were very helpful with answering all of our questions and helping us with directions for the area. Our suite was very spacious and nicely decorated. The only thing I would refer to as a negative was there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom which causes the bathroom to be hot and steamy after showering.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to DC.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Front desk staff was great. Provided all the info I needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vd

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Book room for 4 people service just for two. Charge for four.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Carpet in hallways and elevators are in bad need of an update. Room however was very clean , spacious and comfy. It is very close to Iwo Jima memorial but no closely restaurants. It costs $6.00 to get to Georgetown area. Staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great home base for our exploration in DC

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities
Location: Walking distance to restaurants, coffee, monument and train station.
The hotel met all of our needs for our family trip to DC to see the national monuments and museums. We traveled with our children and had a few very specific needs to make our trip a success. We wanted to find accommodations that included a kitchen, laundry, a swimming pool and easy access to the National Mall. We found all that and more. We were able to walk to restaurants and coffee shops. The walk to the train station was easy, the hotel even offered a free shuttle to the train station Mon - Fri. Cab and UBER rides into the mall were inexpensive too. The hotel staff was eager to help us with our needs and always greeted us with a smile.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Old building which has passed its prime.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff were pleasant and the free coffee in the lobby was actually good.
Cons: Obviously greater attention to some of the surface amenities would help improve our impression.
Location: The location is fine. It is convenient to shopping and dining in the suburbs and easy to get to downtown Washington.
We booked this hotel strictly on price and did not know what to expect. We know there are older hotel properties in and around Washington, D.C. and those are the ones where there are "bargains" compared to downtown. The Virginian is clearly an old apartment building which has been :refurbished". But fresh paint, carpeting, and some new furnishings can't hide the scratches on the elevator woodwork, the deteriorating caulk in the bathrooms, and the noisy old through the wall HVAC units. The room was "clean" enough, but bad caulk in a bathroom just does not inspire confidence. The "new" furnishings were not particularly comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4th time there. Always reliably good

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Very good. Nearby restaurants & convenience store excellent