Ratings based on 572 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Weathered room

Posted Sep 10, 2017
For the price i was charged, i could've stayed at the ritz carlton. The room needed to be update to moden time. No tv in the bedrooms. They used VHS Tapes.Ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Renter beware!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Unit was clean and well equipped. In a quiet wooded location.
Cons: Replace stained and damaged carpets and worn kitchen flooring.
Location: About a mile from the village shown in the pictures, so a drive, walk or shuttle required.
Although most of the pictures with the advertisement showed the village at Northstar, this unit was about a mile away and was a part of a condo complex that had about 130 units. These condos appear to be privately owned and only rented and managed by Northstar. The unit was clean but had badly worn carpet and kitchen flooring that was in need of replacement. I am surprised that Northstar would not have some minimum standards for the unit to be in their rental program. The pictures included with the advertisement were not of the unit rented to me but at least should be representative of the quality I could expect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alamo, CA

North Star Condo

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Refrigerator needs repaired.
Location: North Star has everything ... no need to leave the resort.
We always love coming to North Star for down hill bike riding on the mountain. The condo had comfortable beds. The refrigerator leaked and made a strange noise. Somewhat noisy neighbors. Clean rooms and good showers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Excellent Weekend in Tahoe

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: All, location, facility, etc
Cons: Parking at the recreational center
Location: North Tahoe in either the summer or winter is outstanding, with all kinds of outdoor activities
I have stayed in multiple locations within NorthStar and have enjoyed all. This stay was in a cabin during July and I thoroughly enjoyed the room, the resort and of course the general area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Nice Condominium

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: There was lots of space in the unit with only three adults. It could handle several more if some were comfortable with bunk beds.
Cons: In the dead of summer, air-conditioning would be useful but perhaps not necessary.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants within a short driving distance. There appear to be some wildlife viewing areas nearby.
This was a nice condominium in Truckee which is northwest of Lake Tahoe. It is close to the northern beaches if that is of interest. It is about an hour drive to get to the the parks on the southwest edge of the lake. The condo was well equipped in terms of the kitchen setup and utensils. The unit was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The unit is part of a very large complex and it takes some effort to find the unit. It should be noted that the unit we were in did not have air-conditioning and we were there in mid August. With the use of fans we were comfortable but this could be an issue if the weather was unusually warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great all the way around

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Wonderful and accommodating staff; great location;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It's a very nice resort with ample of space in its townhouse style condos. We stayed in a 3 bed-room condo and the kitchen was a nice and welcome surprise. Would like to stay there again! Few things though: Resort amenities like swimming pool, spa etc were not easy to find out (and you pay extra per person for them - like $3/person - and this is in addition to $15 resort fee/day). There is no daily cleaning/room service. Although they provide you with lots of extra bed-sheets and toiletries, so I guess that's not an issue if you are staying only for 2,3 days. For longer stays, please talk to staff in advance. It's in North (Truckee) - so everything in South Tahoe is like 1.5 hours drive, which is a bummer if you are planning to visit beautiful beaches in south e.g. Pope beach etc. But on the other hand, north side beaches like King's beach, which is awesome as well, is just 10 minutes drive. Would recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Don't let the photos fool you.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: not the room, not the location, not comfortable.
Cons: a better, more accurate description of where the room was located and letting us know that the bed was in the wall.
Location: Things to do nearby were not that near.
Many photos are of the Northstar Village where the restaurants and shops are located. There are photos of large buildings with hotel like comforts with a skating rink in front. Our room was actually in a building far away from this in a hilly area with many stairs and no elevators. The room looks like it was from the 1980's and never updated. The big surprise was the murphy bed that was very difficult to pull down from the wall. Not what we expected at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Cons: Better upkeep on the cleanliness ( ie dust on tables)
Great condo but a tad dusty on the tables and chairs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin

Nice house near North Star Village

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean. There was great amenities; the kitchen had all the utensils we needed. It even had a washer and dryer.
Location: Boutique shopping in the North Star Village. Roller skating, bungee jumpee, panning for gems, miniature golf and rock climbing for the kids!
The overall experience was awesome. It is a perfect home away from home for a family of 4. The location is near the Northstar Resort so you have full access to the North Star Villege which is super cute.