Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Great stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere and food
Location: The location was good near National Park and Kielder Forest and easy travel to the Scottish lowlands
The room was really comfortable fresh fruit every day and tea (with teapot!) and coffee facilities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Beautiful country Inn- Superb Food

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the details, such a fruits, coffee, and biscuits in the room, the complimentary tasters at each dinner.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: You are in the middle of Hadrian's Wall country. Hikes, museums, archaeology digs. History seeped into the very earth.
The hotel was quinticential England countryside. Beautiful pub, elegant dining room, wonderful rooms, flower-filled garden perfect for sitting in. The staff were professional and so kind to us and to our children, the food was the best I have had anywhere, the location is on a winding, countryside lane in the middle of Hadrien's Wall country.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from us

Could have been bettter

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location Comfortable room Excellent food Dining staff inattentive No water for toilet or shower on 2 nd day got help from maid but not from reception no apology or compensation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ups and downs

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: restaurant and back garden
Cons: more staff. better appreciation of guests and staff.
manager/owner unhelpful, especially after we woke up one day to no hot water and our friends also staying there woke up to no water at all. no acknowledgment of the difficulties this caused guests. no apologies or offer of anything -- not even a comp bottle of wine at dinner which we requested as the least they could do. needed more staff, and what were there were tired and unappreciated by mgr./owner. beautiful small garden and excellent food at restaurant. clean rooms. quiet.
5 out of 5
by Clare from Hampshire

Outstanding food and staff

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Just finished a 3 night stay at Battlesteads and will certainly be returning. Lovely staff and an excellent restaurant. We ate here every night and both tried something different each time and could not fault a thing. Delicious and an excellent choice at breakfast time too. Staff were really polite and helpful. There is currently building work to improve the bar and lounge area which didn't affect us and would like to return in the future to see how it will look.
4 out of 5
by Adrian from Reading

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Decor was a little tired in places. Staff were all delightful and extremely helpful. This hotels the ambience of a country pub with excellent restaurant and good bedrooms and bathrooms. we would recommend and visit again if we were to be in that part of the country
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Good hotel/restaurant, useful for walking

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, quiet rooms, excellent fresh food (love the breakfasts too, lots of choice). Staff very pleasant and attentive.
Cons: I can't think of anything to be improved.
Location: Wark is very small, with only a couple of shops. Mainly, we go for the walking, with the Pennine Way very close and Hadrian's Wall not far.
Enjoyable stay, good food, attentive but not intrusive staff. We've been in previous years, and it's nice that staff remember us (even the chef).
4 out of 5
by Heather from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel, cramped room

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent restaurant, lovely outdoor space, pleasant staff. Let down by small room and cramped bathroom.
5 out of 5
by Debra from Ackworth

A gem of a place to visit

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
A gem of a place. Didn't expect it to be so lovely. Welcoming, lovely staff, great locals, amazing food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Its essence.
Location: Hadrian's Wall. Enough said.
Warm and welcoming irrespective of the weather. Nice mix of guests and local customers. Good food and drink selection with locally sourced ingredients. Lovely garden busy with flora and fauna and an observatory with a really infectious teacher (Roy). Will certainly return