Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Great stay

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere and food
Location: The location was good near National Park and Kielder Forest and easy travel to the Scottish lowlands
The room was really comfortable fresh fruit every day and tea (with teapot!) and coffee facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Beautiful country Inn- Superb Food

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: We loved the location, the details, such a fruits, coffee, and biscuits in the room, the complimentary tasters at each dinner.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: You are in the middle of Hadrian's Wall country. Hikes, museums, archaeology digs. History seeped into the very earth.
The hotel was quinticential England countryside. Beautiful pub, elegant dining room, wonderful rooms, flower-filled garden perfect for sitting in. The staff were professional and so kind to us and to our children, the food was the best I have had anywhere, the location is on a winding, countryside lane in the middle of Hadrien's Wall country.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from us

Could have been bettter

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location Comfortable room Excellent food Dining staff inattentive No water for toilet or shower on 2 nd day got help from maid but not from reception no apology or compensation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ups and downs

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: restaurant and back garden
Cons: more staff. better appreciation of guests and staff.
manager/owner unhelpful, especially after we woke up one day to no hot water and our friends also staying there woke up to no water at all. no acknowledgment of the difficulties this caused guests. no apologies or offer of anything -- not even a comp bottle of wine at dinner which we requested as the least they could do. needed more staff, and what were there were tired and unappreciated by mgr./owner. beautiful small garden and excellent food at restaurant. clean rooms. quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Good hotel/restaurant, useful for walking

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, quiet rooms, excellent fresh food (love the breakfasts too, lots of choice). Staff very pleasant and attentive.
Cons: I can't think of anything to be improved.
Location: Wark is very small, with only a couple of shops. Mainly, we go for the walking, with the Pennine Way very close and Hadrian's Wall not far.
Enjoyable stay, good food, attentive but not intrusive staff. We've been in previous years, and it's nice that staff remember us (even the chef).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Its essence.
Location: Hadrian's Wall. Enough said.
Warm and welcoming irrespective of the weather. Nice mix of guests and local customers. Good food and drink selection with locally sourced ingredients. Lovely garden busy with flora and fauna and an observatory with a really infectious teacher (Roy). Will certainly return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel ,close to several roman remain sites

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Comfortable ,clean and very good food
Cons: more seating area in the bar for people just wanting a drink
Location: many Roman sites close by and Kielder Forest is within easy driving distance .
lovely hotel ,beautiful garden which encouraged wild birds and insects. Restaurant food was first class and all the staff were pleasant . The hotel room was very clean and supplied organic hand and body wash e.t.c.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Gem near Hadrian's Wall

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Everything- and its position with so many wonderful walks that can be done from the hotel. A truly "dog-friendly" hotel.
Cons: N/A
Location: See above ie wonderful walks. And Hadrian's Wall and other Roman sites very near
Excellent friendly staff coped wonderfully with our late arrival on a terribly wet night with 2 unexpected dogs. Extremely good dinner and, next morning, breakfast. Sad to leave after only one night and will stay again and for longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: There were a number of sitting rooms to choose from, which created an atmosphere of space and privacy. The bedroom was large and light.
Cons: The staff were lovely but there weren't enough of them, especially at meal times.
Location: Set in the green belt on the outskirts of Edinburgh ring road, with easy access to the city, but retaining the peace of the countryside.
Set in a quiet area, with gardens to lawn. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Green Hotel with great food.

Posted May 10, 2016
We thought it was a very comfortable hotel, with great food, which really tickled our taste buds.