Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay, would definitely return

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Tracy was out when we arrived at about half 6 but left a key and our room was already pleasantly lit and warm. We stayed in Room 2, nicely turned out room with shower ensuite, huge bed (2 singles together) tea and coffee etc. The breakfast was good, and plenty of it - Tracy and her colleagues were friendly and welcoming. The building has some issues of wear and tear, the ceiling in our bathroom needs attention and one of the floorboards was a little loose, but overall this definitely didn't negate the comfortable room, and perfect location for getting into town centre or the Gardens/castle. I'd worried a little when I read some of the reviews - if you want hands on service and don't like the idiosyncrasies of a very personal approach (not like the anonymous big hotels), then this probably isn't for you, but I would absolutely recommend it for being relaxed and left to your own devices. The only thing I would ask for is some bigger towels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

won't be going back

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
the breakfast was loverly. the room was clean. but so cold. no double glazing so the cold came through the old windows and you could hear the traffic. the bathroom is so tiny. my daughter felt very clostrofobic in it. the shower is the same. not room to move. then when we popped back to collect our cases. someone had left a mat on the top stop in front of the front door. I came out carrying suitcase and bagels. the mat slipped and I fell down the 4 concrete steps. in so much pain now. will be a trip to A&E when I get home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Creaky floor boards and thin walls

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Cheap, central location and near pubs. Lovely owner.
Cons: Lack of parking, pokey shower room and smell of fried breakfast
Location: Great location for castle, gardens and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Friendly B&B

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely time with excellent Full English Breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Bedroom comfortable and spacious but short of storage space (1 slim wardrobe and no drawers or bedside cabinets). The bathroom was cramped with a very tight shower cubicle with a curtain. Again not enough shelving and the fan did not work. Breakfast was good and staff excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to town and Alnwick castle.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Lovely stay for x3 nights. Amazing cooked breakfast each morning. Tracey and team are lovely. Bathroom in family room a bit small and needs updating, could do with double glazing in room, as could be noisy with road outside and pub across the road, but we had a good stay with nice comfy beds. Thank you!
2 out of 5
by Francesca from Roma

good position, very bad room

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
There was mold in the bathroom and a very bad smell in the room. All night we are disturbed for noise in the street. We stayed in the room at ground floor, maybe the others rooms could be better
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Old building with very limited parking on busy rd

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Excellent breakfast
Cons: Parking
Location: Very busy road near to town centre
Breakfast excellent but parking very limited (probably illegal). Some electrics questionable in bathroom of room 3.