Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Tom from Newton Stewart

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Made very welcome,good room,great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Warrington

Stunning little find

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Weekend away to relax and boy did we relax
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Steve and Julie were so helpful and friendly!
Cons: Our bed was not very comfortable.
Location: So close to shops and dining. The town is perfectly located for exploring the northeast of England.
Room was large and clean. Sparsely decorated but very welcoming.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
So nice to be made to feel so comfortable as a woman travelling alone. Very friendly landlady who gives great service and keeps an immaculately clean house.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Telford

A hidden gem!!

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
What a lovely place to stay, great room, good hospitality and brilliant breakfast!!
3 out of 5
by Glen from MK

Decent enough B&B but inconsistent in parts

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
The owner is friendly and helpful. The room was a twin with a slightly odd layout, no table near the head of the bed so you can't easily use an alarm clock or read a book. The room wasn't that well equipped: it had a hanging rail instead of a wardrobe, a sink but no en-suite, the dedicated bathroom was down the hall but was locked with key so you had exclusive use. The bathroom was the old family bathroom with a shower cubicle, bath and loo. The Full English breakfast was reasonable but a little inconsistent. The eggs were nicely poached but the sausage was over cooked with a leathery skin and one of the two pieces of bacon was similarly overcooked but the other was fine. Overall good location, friendly but a little off the pace in some areas.
2 out of 5
by Carol from Huddersfield


Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Unfriendly welcome.Room was very cold on arrival.Room was tiny as was the ensuite bathroom.TV was an antique with poor reception.Tea and coffee tray was ok.The dining room was lovely and the breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff, great location in town

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Looked after very well, excellent breakfast and most helpful staff
5 out of 5
by Susan Jane

Very nice place to stay

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely building with very friendly, helpful, accommodating staff - nothing was too much trouble.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a one night stop over

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: Please make it clearer in the online booking that we were expected to phone in with a time of arrival.
Location: Right in the middle of a lovely town, right next to supermarket and the amenities.
Small twin room and ensuite (would have been cramped for two), with some nice toiletries and big thick towels. Lovely and clean room, in the middle of the town. I hadn't realised that we were meant to let them know arrival time if it would be between 4 and 7, (the times given), which was embarassing. As a business user it would have been useful to have a desk rather than a chest of drawers and wardrobe but that may not be the case for folk on holiday. Breakfast was good.