Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Homely and friendly.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Personal attention
Cons: Parking is only thing, but not really an issue as its a quiet location.
Location: About 1 mile walk or drive to quiet beach Alnwick and Bamborough castles close, Farne Isles Nature reserve boat rides recommended and Lindesfarne.
We found it a good location to explore attractions in Northumberland, a pleasant twin room with every facility you could need, excellent and well cooked breakfast selection friendly and informative proprietress home baked cake always available which may not be a good thing for the waistline. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Wendy from Derbyshire

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very welcoming, friendly, cosy, clean and delicious breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Joyce from Sandbach Cheshire

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
A very brief overnight stay, but made most welcome and found everything very comfortable. Wide range of breakfast options and plenty of fresh fruit.
4 out of 5
by Anne from Aberdeen

Chestnut Tree House - thumbs up

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Nice quiet B&B, very friendly welcome, wonderful food and very comfortable. Definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strange ....

Posted Feb 16, 2016
The house is clean and breakfast was nice. But the owners are strange... I've been asked am I british and after my answer that I am european she started to behave strange. There was noting to worry about till I left. They call the police and report that I am suspicious ... There was no arguiung or even conversation for more then 10 min.. Do I need to be british to hire a room in this house in case I can live and work in UK? I will NOT recomend this house to anyone , because you may face the police in the morning if you don't match owners view for "normal" tenant". The room was extremely small and not en suite as advertised.
5 out of 5
by Helene from North East

Great place for walkers

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
We are walking the St Oswald Way and needed a regular room for one night. Chestnut Tree House was perfect for our needs, reasonably priced and not too far from the walk. Julie was very welcoming when we rolled in from our long day of walking and welcomed us with a pot of tea and the best homemade chocolate cake ever. After a little chat we were shown our cosy ensuite room which was just what we wanted. Julie recommended The Fishing Boat Inn in nearby Boulmer for our evening meal which turned out to be in a beautiful setting overlooking the Northumbrian coast. We both enjoyed our meals and the ambience. After a sound sleep we had a full breakfast in the morning and chatted with the one other guest and our host. I really appreciated the itemised list for breakfast which we chose from the previous evening. Its great to be able choose the items you particularly like and the quantities. the choice was very generous and would suit all tastes. Julie ensured we were breakfasted in time to catch the bus in time for the start of our next day of walking. we would definitely like to visit again and intend to visit with our daughter. Chestnut Tree House has one of the few single rooms in the area which only charges single rates.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Very welcoming

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was small but very well set out and spotlessly clean. The proprietors were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend Chestnut Tree House. Our only concern was the parking as we had a rented car and it had to be left on the street.
5 out of 5
by Dave from Edinburgh

Home from home

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
I spent a very pleasant couple of days at this excellent B&B whilst working at RAF Boulmer which is close by. The landlady, Janet, is very friendly and greeted me with a cup of tea on arrival and on my return from work in the evening. My bedroom was very comfortable, the shower was powerful, and breakfast was delicious. In addition to the usual tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom, a cafetiere with a tub of fresh ground coffee is provided, just like I have every morning at home. Fresh milk was found in a fridge on the landing so altogether a perfect start to the day! I'll definitely look to book the Chestnut Tree next time I'm in the area, whether for business or pleasure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned but comfortable

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Lovely breakfast, very clean.
Cons: Needs to be brought into the modern age!
An old fashioned b&b-doilies, drawer liners and mini kettles. The room was comfortable, though stuffed with unnecessary furniture. En suite was small and dated. However, the house was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was lovely-genuinely fresh fruit and a wide choice of options all cooked to order. Difficult to find due to a lack of signage; close to a gorgeous beach but little else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Chestnut Tree House B&B

Posted Jun 28, 2011 on Hotels
A very small family run B & B by very friendly owner. Extremely good breakfast. Good service. Room for single person small but adequate with privately used bathroom.