Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Alnwick Castle

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Hotel is very close to Alnwick Castle and has a stunning breakfast room with very good cooked breakfast. That's it about the positives. Our room was dated with mould on the bathroom ceiling and peeling wallpaper in the bedroom, the bedding was of rather cheap quality and the staff in the breakfast room was the least friendly I have encountered so far in any hotel. I especially would not recommend this hotel if you are travelling as a family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

An Unbelievably Quaint Step Back in Time

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Outstandingly helpful staff! Quaint, warm and inviting! Close to everything!
Cons: Because of the age of the Inn, there is no lift (elevator). So, if you have trouble with stairs, request a ground floor room.
Location: Diner and drinks at the Tree House is a MUST!!! As is a visit to the Castle and Gardens.
The staff and hotel were wonderful. As an old Coach Inn, the décor is a step back in time and the Inn is warm, inviting and extremely comfortable! It's right in the heart of the village and "walk to or quick ride" close for the Gardens, Tree House and Castle. The staff was extremely helpful and the restaurant exceptionally good and wonderfully decorated with paneling from the Titanic's sister ship the Olympus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashford kent

ok hotel in good position.....

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: good position
Cons: fix the shower
Location: good location for all sights in the area
rather expensive for what it is...reception area gives impression that its going to be plush but room was basic... the shower was terrible... the food is expensive and small portions, only ate there first night then went out, there are a few decent restaurants in town
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to centre and castle

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: town centre location
Cons: more staff
Location: Close to the Alnwick castle
bad noisy room Not enough staff in dining room, took half hour to order breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gateshead

Faded elegance

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The restaurant is very pretty, with lots of lovely panelling
Cons: The quality of the rooms and bathroom - cleanliness was not an issue but it was nothing special. Service in restaurant. Poor value
Location: Lovely town. Had an excellent lunch at The Plough, just through the arch.
Room was fine but for the price I would have expected more. I stayed here a number of years ago at a conference and had a very nice room. Far from the classy feel I told my daughter we could expect. Staff were very pleasant but the dining room was busy at breakfast and we waited almost 45 minutes for a cooked breakfast. Requests for milk and extra tea (it was cold by the time breakfast came) took forever. We were told that delays were due to the restaurant being busy but surely a hotel of this size can cope with this?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect located hotel close to castle

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Wonderful hotel, possibly overpriced compared with other experiences in UK. Staff were welcoming and service excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

relaxing break

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: was able to park at rear of hotel and it was near to all amenities Comfortable and relaxing atmosphere Enjoyed the break.
Cons: NOT REALLY
Location: near castle and Alnwick gardens on main street for pubs and shops
nice hotel very friendly staff. Beautiful restaurant and also a bistro. in centre of town within reach of gardens and castle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Sep 21, 2014
The room was comfortable and be breakfast was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recollections of our stay

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The toilet was not cleansed following use that morning by the previous occupants. The person on duty was reluctant to come to deal with it "because we are too busy with a wedding on".
3 out of 5
by garryp

Good location but average

Posted May 5, 2014
Well located in Alnwick near to castle. Service good rooms average. Breakfast okay but again nothing special . shower poor.At £105 per nifht not good value.