Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Barry from Newcastle upon tyne

Not four star treatment

Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at the hotel at 7.00pm where we informed that the main restaurant was fully booked and we would have to dine in the less refined restaurant... Two weeks previous when we booked the hotel I contacted them directly to see if we could book the main restaurant, and was informed to book on the night. When we entered our room we found the entrance door broken and the the surrounding woodwork weak... It looked as if it had been forced opened and the remedial was not appropriate. Also, there was black, rusty screw heads on the soap tray and the wallpaper and furniture looking tired. When we contacted reception we were moved to a different room. In the morning at the breakfast table, I waited 10 minutes for my ham and cheese to arrive; I had to prompt the waitress who stated that when we ordered it initially, it had been recorded incorrectly, therefore another five minutes before my breakfast arrived. The reason why we booked this four star hotel was for A fiftieth birthday and was totally let down.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by mark from mansfield

A little remote but definitely come back

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
not easy to find at night and no signs outside to guide you to reception but once found very nice place to stay and staff very friendly. would visit again
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful country setting

Posted Nov 1, 2015
The facilities are first class the setting is wonderful and green surrounded by extensive grounds with golf course, however the service level was terrible, staff badly trained and inexperienced, if you require excellent service do not go here.
4 out of 5
by Eric from York

Birthday treat

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful we used the facilities, spar and golf course which were great We were very very disapointed in the restaurants, we were not looked after as we should have been, no one checked if our food was ok, the food arrived only luke warm.the plates were cold. We only ate one meal in the hotel because of this and ate off site the second day and night. This stay was my wifes 60th birthday treat from me and cost a good amount of money and I felt this let the stay down.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Cumbria

Relaxing break

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Had a great break, the only disappointment was the comfort off the bed and lack off pillows. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bank Hol 31/08/15

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
My daughter and I stayed as part of a wedding party. The bridal suite had a wasps nest in the air vent and there were dead wasps all over the window cill and a few flying around as we were trying to get ready. The wedding day itself didn't run as smoothly as it should have done with music being missed out, food being delivered to sporadic tables, with what seemed like little or no organisation. There were only two bar staff on at one point during the day to serve a wedding party of 100+ plus other guests. For breakfast in the morning, we had to wait around 20 minutes for cooked foods to be brought out, and we were told to check out on time or face extra charges! When we arrived there was an enormous queue of complaining golfers so that spoke volumes from the off! I would not stay again as have been to much nicer, friendlier establishments where customer service was paramount and this is not the case here.
4 out of 5
by Linda from Scarborough

Lovely stay with a couple of issues.

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed out stay apart from getting the lactose free moll I was promised and not bring able to have any gluten free toast on out first morning. The gf bread was placed next to the toaster everyone else were toasting their ordinary bread. However we were assured that it was a mistake and would be sorted the next day. I'm pleased to Say that it was and my bread was still wrapped. I was also able to get my bread toasted in the kitchen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Inconsistent customer service

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Everything seemed a little slapdash on the first day. Staff were very casual and unprofessional at times. It was the little things that were disappointing, unsatisfactory beauty treatments etc. Dukes Grill was fantastic though and restored our faith a little. Service was much better the following day.