Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Comfortable hotel with polite helpful staff in a beautiful part of Northumberland
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester-le-Street

Great for a short break

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Lots of variety within the hotel. Can use the health facilities or golf course. There are a few bars such as the Claret Jug with Sky Sports available
Cons: No Sky Sports available on bedroom TV, which is a pity.
Location: Quite remote. However have plenty of major towns/cities 15 mins away. We ate in Slaley village, The Rose and Crown, 2 mins away, thoroughly recommend.
Just booked a bed and breakfast break. The pool was excellent. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was a huge choice at breakfast to suit any needs. Although we did not have time, there are some lovely walks around the grounds/ golf course. We have stayed before when playing golf, but this time left the clubs at home. Would definitely do this break again here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merseyside

Relaxed no hassle stay.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast ...great free wifi. Leisure club
Cons: The gym is in my opinion for the size of hotel , on the small side
Location: Great location Drive out and discover quaint villages and views to die for
Loved our stay. Great walks, plenty of easy or more graded walks...great staff and leisure facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Lovely country hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We had a lovely time with great food, great facilities, huge comfy bed and plenty of time relaxing in the room or the health and leisure club. The walks in the grounds were rather muddy and poorly signposted but still had a great time. Would recommend to anyone. Word of warning although the room is very reasonable for what you get when you get there the food and drinks are rather expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a fantastic setting.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The spa facilities and the setting.
Cons: The breakfast food should be stocked up more often.
Very pleasant two night break. The VIQ room was very nice, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast service could be better but this didn't really bother us too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Stan Stanton

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Every thing was first class
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of great waking and senary and golf
One of the best hotels we have stayed at.would definitely return again hotel was fabulous and all the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely if you just want to unwind.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful and there were so many of them ! Facilities were top class as was everything.
Cons: The only thing I could think of would be a little pot to put your used tea bags in, to save dripping on the carpet !!
Location: We went into Hexham which was just a short bus ride to see the lovely abbey.
It was our ruby wedding anniversary so we would treat ourselves! We had a lovely time and thoroughly enjoyed it, so restful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slaly hall hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Staff so helpful
Cons: Menu more choice
Location: Beautiful
We had a wonderful stay. Food was excellent staff wonderful. Every thing fab. The menus could have a bit more choice. Also the spar treatments when I rang to book I was told £60 each I booked two for my husband and I. Also I found a leaflet in the bar area for nails file and polish £25 so I book in. On the leaflet it said £60 for massage. When we come to pay it was £30 nails £65 masages £160 total I did question it the lady ran the spa and said that was ld tariff. And prices had gone up. I paid but was a bit unhappy as theses spar cards should not have been lying around the hotel. other wise stay was great. Anne Heating on n room would not work and room window drafty but as not really borthed about that as I like fresh air
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

The whole experience was totally disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Grounds look nice
Cons: See description of my experience, i think it's obvious from that.
Location: Don't know as I didn't stay long enough to find out.
The hotel has not signs within the grounds so I had a magical mystery tour trying to find it. I was waiting for more than half an hour before getting to the check in desk. I was there to surprise my brother and having timed my arrival to avoid his, due to me being kept waiting for so long, the surprise was completely ruined because he came into reception while I was waiting. The standard of the bathroom was disappointing. I didn't sleep much because of something in my room switching itself on and off all night. The. When I checked out the next morning they tried to charge me for some children's meals (I was travelling alone and I don't even have any children) and a meal that the staff had been told the evening before to charge to another room. All is all a surprise ruined and a disappointing stay, I would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Xmas break

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Lovely hotel , quick vheck in room was ready which had lovely view over the golf course.Room very nice and hotel facilities very good. Only one complaint was they had run out of steaks we chose in the restaurant but otherwise we had a great break.