Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Short stay in family room

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Ok for a short stay but the building is tired and needs some repair. Clean room and Staff very friendly. Unfortunately no wifi and poor mobile reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable.
Cons: If you are going to have paying guests turn the music off a bit earlier please!
Location: Wallington hall, Cragside etc.
Noise was a problem as the rooms are above a pub bar (not so much customers but more the music on loud until midnight on a Sunday night). Room was clean and nicely done, staff were friendly enough. Also cooked breakfast was over done (looked like it had been cooked and left in the oven to keep warm for too long!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: staff were very helpful and friendly
Cons: most things
Location: maybe a little way out but would need transport to go anywhere.
very very over priced. we only stayed two nights out of the tree booked.
3 out of 5
by Cate from Grimsby

Too expensive for standard of room

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late so think we were given the last room! We booked a double and were given a single with beds that didn't even match! The shower was best bit of the room, except for the mould around the bath. There were cobwebs, chipped paint, oil leaking down the door from the door hinge, a tv that only had BBC channels initially then when we asked them to fix it, we had no tv channels, extractor fan that was left on all night outside our window and two breakfast bar chairs but no breakfast bar! Julie was very helpful but unable to resolve any of our problems. My advice on booking, ask for any room but no 1! Although, apart from the reviews, I've no reason to think the others were any better. The restaurant was lovely and the views from it were amazing, food was good but warm rather than hot and no peppermint tea! I'd definitely book a meal in the restaurant again and visit the bar but don't think I'd waste £97 on a room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Friendly staff and excellent food

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The staff couldnt have been more welcoming and we were pleasantly surprised by the surroundings and the really excellent restaurant - little gem
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middlesbrough

Beautiful countryside

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Guest House in excellent location, close to the lovely town of Morpeth and within easy distance of Newcastle. Outstanding countryside.
Cons: See above
Location: Ideal location for walking and exploring coastline.
Arrived mid afternoon and from a distance the guest house looked very impressive but closer examination showed it was in need of remedial work and attention. Inside the bar area and bedroom required the same. Clearly this has been a lovely place in the past and could easily recover its former glory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Nice, welcoming pub

Posted Oct 13, 2015
The pub and food is lovely. Really busy which surprised me considering it seems like it's in the middle of nowhere! Downsides were that our room was directly above the bar so it was quite noisy - not a problem if you're not planning on sleeping till late anyway but we had to get an early night so wasn't great. The other more serious point is that I felt the window latch in our room wasn't secure enough. Our 3 year old managed to open it which give me the fright of my life. The window is at knee height so she could easily have lent out. Would suggest management look to fix this immediately. Aside from this, lovely room and nice staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Lovely friendly Hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Pleasant staff comfy beds. Excellent food
1st class overnight stay.. Room and views beautiful, price included breakfast, which was equally outstanding. Highly recommended. My husband and I will come here again
5 out of 5
by robert from New Port Richey Fla.

good time

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
The people are freindly and the food was very good. as an american I know hambergers and I had one of the best I've ever had there. The owner was freindly and helpful and Loraine was a joy.
4 out of 5
by daniel from Pluto

family stay

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Nice big family room. 2 bunk beds, 1 day bed, 1 double. Nice breakfast Good ale