Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Non existing hotel I paid stay for

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We drove up to our stay at the Clarion Hotel in Michigan City and found out our hotel was no longer in operation due to a fire that occurred sometime in July of 2016. Our stay was booked in June or 2016. No notification was sent to us about this incident nor were our fee refunded to us We scrambled to book a hotel say in the surrounding area only to pay two times more than we paid with Expedia. We hope to recover what we paid for the second hotel from Expedia due to the lack of communication about our booked stay.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from Batavia, NY

The staff was amazing, the hotel was alright

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is going through an owner change and was a little rough. For example, it said free breakfast online buy had paid breakfast when we arrived (the staff gave us coupons after we inquired). Also, we arrived and there was a huge gross puddle in front of our room making the carpet wet and pull up from the floor. The room smelled musty. The staff got us moved immediately and upgraded our room to one which smelled great and had no puddle. Was a little rough with little kids there, but the staff were exceptional and we are thankful for that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not satisfied

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
The room was great except for the service. The hotel itself smelled like cats and the hallway on my floor smelled like marijuana. Their website stated they have free breakfast for their guests but found out it was false advertising. Me and my kids had to go to McDonald's. The morning front desk clerk was rude. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was my first and last time staying at this establishment.
1 out of 5
by Eve

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
From the front of the hotel to the front desk service (courteous and efficient) everything was the same as other Clarions we had stayed with. Up the stairs to our room and the similarity ended. This is an old motel remodeled to a hotel with varying degrees of success. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller. It was impossible to regulate the air conditioning, it was like a walk in freezer. There was no possibility of any real light as the curtains opened over the walkway where people moved about all the time. I know I've stayed in this hotel before, only it was called a Motel 6. Ok, let's be fair. Motel 7.
3 out of 5
by steve

not bad

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
it wasn't bad,obviously not a holiday inn express but clean ...noisy later in the night but it had a lot of people there (a lot of door slamming) lol
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
was given the wrong key to someone else room, elevator was not up to code. and did not work half the time. hotel grounds were not keep up. trash all over the place.
3 out of 5
by kristine from Berthoud

Average!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was good enough for the price I paid but is not a place I would choose again. There were some sketchy people hanging out in the parking lot and when traveling alone, it doesn't make me feel very secure. The room itself was average. It's nice that the pub is right there. They have great food!
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dawn, Hotel Management
We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
3 out of 5
by Anthony

Wouldn't recommend - bed was awful!

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Just a quick overnight stay on our way to another destination. Bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, not what we wanted after driving all day. Carpet was stained and worn, toilet seat was aged, dirt/dust in the corners and edges, weird smell in the room. Only one outlet open for charging devices in sleeping area, and one in the bathroom. For the price, I wasn't expecting luxury, but I was hoping for clean and comfortable, I would not recommend.
5 out of 5
by Prince J

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Dawn, Hotel Management
We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.