Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Non existing hotel I paid stay for

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We drove up to our stay at the Clarion Hotel in Michigan City and found out our hotel was no longer in operation due to a fire that occurred sometime in July of 2016. Our stay was booked in June or 2016. No notification was sent to us about this incident nor were our fee refunded to us We scrambled to book a hotel say in the surrounding area only to pay two times more than we paid with Expedia. We hope to recover what we paid for the second hotel from Expedia due to the lack of communication about our booked stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
was given the wrong key to someone else room, elevator was not up to code. and did not work half the time. hotel grounds were not keep up. trash all over the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Cons: Need a larger ice machine
Location: Good location
All around good stay. Nice staff, and clean room. Comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Sales, Hotel Management
We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vicksburg MI

Great place to stay.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Spacious Rooms & Bathroom Pool Staff Free Breakfast Convenient Location
Cons: The pool/hot tub area is huge. I would have given the "hotel, facilities, and conditions" excellent but they give you these pool towels that look lik
Location: Lighthouse Outlet Mall Blue Chip Casino 4 Winds Casino in New Buffalo MI
We arrived at the Clarion earlier than expected. I checked in at the front desk not really expecting to get into our room but low & behold, our room was ready so they let us in early. The staff were so friendly. This hotel is updated with pleasing decor throughout, spacious guest rooms and bathrooms. The pool/hot tub area is huge. I would have given the "hotel, facilities, and conditions" excellent but they give you these pool towels that look like bar towels so if you're able, bring your own beach towel. The free breakfast was great. How many of these actually serve biscuits & gravy? This hotel is minutes from the outlet mall, Blue Chip Casino and the Lake MI shoreline. I heartily recommend this Clarion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and falling apart

Posted Oct 19, 2015
This hotel is old and falling apart! They said they upgraded us to the tower witch they said was recently updated. The room had a big stain on the carpet and the floor was rotting out by the ac unit. We told the front desk about it several times but I'm sure they knew about it because new carpet was layed over top of it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Hotel was fine, bathroom was a bit dirty. Beds were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kidless Getaway

Posted Oct 11, 2015
A nice weekend for myself and husband. The room and hotel was exactly what we expected for the price. Clean room, comfortable, overall quite, and friendly staff. We would definitely return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Dawn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive reviews about our hotel. Our staff strives hard to make each stay a pleasant one for each guest. If you are in the area again, we would love to serve you again so you can enjoy same positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
It was in a good location for all the attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Convenient location, friendly staff, clean, well maintained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland, MI

Nice hotel, easy access on and off I94.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
The rooms were good and appreciate the refrig. In room.