Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Old Favorite!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The location and staff are great.
Cons: The bathtub stopper wasn't working correctly. and there were cracks between the walls and the tub enclosure: looked slummy.
Location: Close to many beaches, Sand Dunes National and State Parks and hiking trails.
The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
very friendly staff, helpful and always pleasant, great location, close to shopping and eating., rooms clean, have stayed here several times and will again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Yolanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O'Fallon, MO

Disappointed

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: I like the helpful staff most of all. Front desk, maintenance people, housekeeping, breakfast staff they were all are wonderful.
Cons: Television service. I am a television person and when you offer only one local channel doesn't work for me.
Location: Excellent location. Plenty of places to eat and things to do.
The reason I booked this hotel is because my stay at Carlson Inn in Tacoma Washington beginning April 1, 2017 was such a Fantastic experience I purposely booked with Carlson for this trip. I was so disappointed. Carlson Tacoma offered a variety of channels on television. Channels at Portage, Ind. was very limited. The towels were ruff like maybe soap wasn't rinsed completely out. facial tissue was only in the bath room. I selected the hotel in Portage because I was told Portage was an upscale area. I thought it would be the same quality as in Tacoma, that area was just nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great place to bring the kids to play in the pool.

Posted May 26, 2017
It was fun. The breakfast was good. The children had a blast in the pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel once you are on budget

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Bed size, mattress, pillow and blanket quality were excellent.
We liked the room space (except wardrobe), Free parking, free wi-fi, descent breakfast, Pretty fast check-in and check-out. The minor issue was a TV - it was not functioning. In the morning we notified the lady on reception about it, but she did not even bother to make a note. Obviously, when we came back to hotel in the evening the TV was not fixed. Another lady from reception said that the Maintenance guy has already gone and offered us another room, but since it was our last night in the hotel we declined this offer.
5 out of 5
by Carrie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steven

A port for the night in Portage

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Exercise equipment needed maintenance. Kids running in hall constantly (needs better structure). Other than that a very fine hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kid friendly

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely the best hotel to stay at with little kids, very helpul and friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet, great location. We will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Highly Recommended for Families

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
We loved the hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, family friendly hotel, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast, and large rooms. We booked the hotel primarily for the location and kiddie pool for our two-year old. However, it was apparently spring break up north and there were TONS of big kids in the kiddie pool running around, wrestling, squirting water guns, playing tag, flyng down the baby slide to get away almost knocking little ones over, basically everything you shouldn't be doing in a kiddie pool with babies/toddlers around. None of these kids parents were paying attention to them and telling them to stop (also annoying). So that was a little disappointing. We feel as if there should be an age limit for the "kiddie" pool that only has a foot of water. Our daughter still had a great time in the pool, but we had to just be standing next to her to be sure she didn't get trampled by disrespectful/too big kids. So don't book during spring break is the moral of the story - or be prepared to 'talk to" children that aren't yours and give them the pool rules. (We may have done it just a few times!)
5 out of 5
by Jared

Great experience thank you

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Was a great place for a quick getaway kids and I had a great time.