Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

daughter won't stop talking about the frog slide

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: comfortable rooms, pleasant staff
Cons: My husband had a mix-up with the waffle iron. He and the staff had to clean up batter. He noted a lack of hand soap by kitchen sink. FIX the pool.
Location: West beach is close. Longhorn steak house has great steak and kids meals.
We stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was in Feb 2017. It was amazing. The hotel host accidentally gave us a room that someone was already staying in (she explained it was a glitch in computer system that happens sometimes) and made up for it by upgrading our room. It was nice to have the extra space. The second time we stayed the large pool was shut town temporarily for maintenance. The thing is, when hotels that have pools, close them, they should notify the customers. I think the problem is that I book via Expedia and expedia doesn't share renovation information the way they should. We stayed here less than two weeks later and the pool had been closed. I was too exhausted to do anything about it, but it was incredibly difficult to watch our 1 year old (who we would have had in the big pool with us in a flotation device), while our almost 4 year old played in the baby pool with the frog slide. I'm getting sick of booking via expedia to find out the hotel has renovations happening. There must be a way to notify customers when pools or other amenities are temporarily shut down. I don't want to negatively review the hotel, because again, I'm not sure how much they are to blame. However, we were there three days the second time around and the pool was closed the entire time and it didn't look like anyone was fixing it.
5 out of 5
by SHANNAN

Courteous & clean... even during renovation.

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was a spur of the moment trip for a my 2 daughters & I before getting back to school. We wanted to use the kiddie pool, which was awesome. They're renovating but nothing interrupted our visit. My only complaint, so minir, was that one of the 2 beds didn't have the pillows but since we had a pull out couch, extra pillows were in the closet so I didnt bother the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pool could have been a little warmer. Baby pool heater broke. They should list that when booking.
5 out of 5
by Abby T. from IN

Clean, spacious, comfortable

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. My husband and I were stuck in Portage for the weekend for work and decided on this hotel. For the price, the room was comfortable and clean, the entire hotel was smoke free, and it had a decent pool and sauna to enjoy. Location was great for two people without a vehicle to get to the city, with decent restaurants, coffeehouses, and stores within walking distance. Ten minutes from Lake Michigan shores was a plus. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Great pool, great value

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great pool, affordable and comfortable bed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Nice hotel staff was friendly close to the expressway comfortable bed !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, spacious room with plenty of space to spread out. We always appreciate a mini-fridge and microwave in addition to the more standard coffee maker. It was a bit of a drawback that there was no obvious temperature control for the fridge, which ended up being cold enough to freeze drinks and medication. The carpet looked a little worn, but the room art was definitely a notch above the usual. The pool area had both a kiddie pool with a play structure and a deeper swimming pool. There's also a game room and a small fitness room. The breakfast options included the usual: eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal and dry cereals, waffle maker, various toast-able options, pastries and fruit. The staff were wonderful, unfailingly friendly and helpful at a level I've rarely seen at an economy motel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

OKAY

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Pool area but needs updates or better lighting so it's not so dim/depressing looking.
Cons: Sqeeky bed. I think it just needs a little update overall, otherwise it would be great.
Location: N/A for us. We select this hotel so the kids can hang out at the pool as we were passing through.
Staff check in....average Room....sqeeky bed/mattress that needs update. Bathroom door sqeeks too. The heater smells so we had to open the window for at least 30-60 minutes. Overall, it needs an update. I did like that they have a microwave & refrigerator in the room. Pool area....needs a little update too, better lighting would be nice. It was very dim. I did love that they have 3 water area 1. Kiddie pool 2. Hot tub 3. Pool (a little too cold for me) Breakfast options were nice. Waffle didn't taste so great but you got other options. With some updates I think it would be great. Otherwise, it was just ok for our family of 4.