Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indy

Okay, but not great

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff, pool temp
Location: Right across from U. of Valparaiso. Near shopping and restaurants.
Attendant at check in should NOT be working with public: no kindness, gruff, even a bit scary! Construction on entire 2nd floor. Looked like 3rd floor was being prepped for renovation, too. Once I got in the room, it was fine -- nothing special. Odd, very lumpy duvet on bed. Otherwise, room was okay. Pool was a bit cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Cindy, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad to hear that you liked the location of our hotel. On the other hand, we apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff and if you didn't like the temperature of the pool. Our team is working hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service and again, we are sorry that you weren't able to observe it at that time. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good accommodations, terrific staff, amazing small

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Accommodations were very good. The staff was polite, professional, helpful. Breakfast was better than most. The staff member in charge of the breakfast room was nothing less than exceptional. Her attention to detail was matched only by her friendliness and genuine concern that every guest had what he or she needed. I would train her for management - she has special qualities. She may be a food service worker now, but she could be much more. Fortunately, we didn't have much inclination or time to watch TV because the service is dreadful. Poor selection of channels, lousy reception. Strange for such a nice place but the last area I care about. On the other hand, how about those great cookies, the nice workout room with machines that actually work (!), and an adequate if small pool and whirlpool. Valpo is such a wonderful small city. We love to meet our Iowa relatives there. And this is a fine place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location between south bend and Chicago
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
This was warm welcoming place. I felt at home and I thank the whole staff!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean & Affordable

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
This stay was due to a business trip with 4 of my co-workers. Staff was friendly, the hotel and room was clean. The only thing I can say needs work is the breakfast. I appreciate a free breakfast but eggs/sausage were so salty they were barely edible at all. Additionally, we took a reference from the hotel clerk for a place to have dinner/get a drink. He referred us to Northside Tap Room. I would not continue recommending this pub to anyone who is not a local. When we arrived, we sat ourselves in a booth and literally watched the two waiters completely ignore our existence. After waiting almost 15 min and watching them serve others who had arrived after us, we got up and walked out. They never bothered to say anything to us - not even when we walked right past them on the way out. We did however have a fantastic server and dinner at Casa Del Mar (I think that's what it was called) a few blocks down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and accomodating hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The desk clerk was extremely helpful in providing us with a very nice room and excellent service. I particularly like the living room area provided near the entrance making it very comfortable to entertain guests without having to jam them into our room. I have always found the manager and others will bend over backward to accommodate us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey County CA

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good stay here. The staff were welcoming and did a great job, especially the kitchen staff. The room was comfortable and clean. My only complaint was that the neighborhood wasn't the best, not terrible, but not great.
5 out of 5
by Karen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels