Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from har

No where near Chicago seedy place

Posted Oct 3, 2016
No near major freeway smack dab in the hood changed rooms due to stinky air conditioner
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the HWY

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We booked this hotel because of the fitness center but it was not there WiFi hardly any connection
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Junky hotel sketchy location nice staff

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Upon arrival we noticed the town was not well kept. The staff was very nice. The first floor at the lobby makes it seem like it's been updated. We went up the elevator to our 3rd floor room and the hall didn't smell super fresh. The bed was comfortable but it is very old! We had lamenant hardwood floors and they were old. Not like in the picture. Just didn't seem clean. We slept in the bed but decided not to use the shower and wore shoes while walking around the room. We could only find one plug in in the room.. Behind the mini fridge. The ac was blowing right up the curtains so it was warm in the room. Breakfast didn't have a protein option and everything was subpar that they offered. Wouldn't stay here again. It would be worth it to pay more and stay somewhere else. My husband told me when we came back after a cubs game that we had 2 men following us up to the door of the hotel. Scary! I'm glad I didn't notice!! Go somewhere else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the South Shore

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Clean, Quiet. Convenient.
Cons: The shower head in our room was incredibly low. Like....if you're 4 feet tall they are perfect. Any higher? not so much.
Location: Close to Chicago. Close to the South Shore for getting into Chicago :-)
This used to be the Magnuson Hotel. We've stayed at it many times. It's close to the Hammond South Shore (seriously, 2 minutes away), always clean, comfortable, and safe. The staff is always very nice at check in and if we need anything. We have never been disappointed in staying at this property. This visit was no exception, even though the property has changed ownership.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Was,told queen beds, was only full. Expdia: Pillows were not comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2016 by econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ushma Arya General Manager Econo Lodge 219-931-0900
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

New Ownership, Same Great Service

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Location, right off the toll road. It's always clean and comfortable. The staff is always very nice.
Cons: For our needs, there is nothing to improve.
Location: It's right off the toll road and 2 minutes away from the Hammond South Shore train station. Getting in and out of Chicago is a breeze :-)
We've stayed at this property several times. It was the Magneson Hotel. As usual, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The staff is always lovely, the rooms are always clean. It's an older property, but well maintained. They have painted and re-carpeted (or cleaned the hall carpets) and the place looks brighter and such. We had a 4th floor room with a microwave and fridge. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. We didn't eat breakfast there, so I can't comment on the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by econolodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ushma Arya General Manager Econo Lodge 219-931-0900
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton Ontario

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Great hotel for the money. Very clean and well taken care off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Reasonable and staff were pleasant.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Towels were a bit rough and scratchy.
Location: Lake Michigan and a very nice marina.
We came for my daughter's post wedding reception with family. The hotel was very reasonable and the staff were nice. It was clean and comfortable, had a microwave and coffeepot in the room, and easy access to the expressway. We were satisfied and enjoyed our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Econolodge Hammond IN

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Terrible experience BED BUGS terrible customer service General Manager very rude! Fights in hallway Blood in elevator due to a fight !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Park, IL

Nice location and easy access.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and clean room. Good food too.
Cons: Parking lot
Location: All types of usual restaurants are here -McDonald's, KFC, Subway and another.
Very comfortable stay. Good location and accessibility. Good food nearby. Clean hotel, well cared for. Friendly staff.