Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Freindly staff, building needs some sprucing up

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, convenient to the university.
Cons: Please see above comments about needed repairs. The WIFI seemed to work best at off peak times, such as two in the morning.
Location: Short walking distance from the universityand convenience stores.
The very friendly staff and decent hot breakfast made our visit as pleasant as possible. Some repairs need to be made. The room phones in our room were disconnected (no dial tone) so we couldn't phone the front desk to ask for assistance when the bugs descended through the ceiling vents. They were harmless stink bugs from outside, but caused some disturbance as they flew around the room. The staff the next day said they knew about the bugs and were going to spray the outside where the bugs were coming from. The toilet in our room clanked onto the floor loudly when it was used, apparently not fastened completely to the floor. The drinking fountain in the eating area appeared to not have been cleaned in a long time, though it seemed to be in working order. I would choose a different motel next time I visit Valparaiso.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Noisy

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The facilities are well worn. The door was damaged. But every time someone entered or left their room the doors would slam and it was very very noisy. There is no sound insulation so the entire experience was just noisy. Also, at check out time I needed to make several trips to my car to get my stuff back into the car and my room keys were disabled that morning so that I had to make the long walk to the main desk to have them reauthorize my keys. That is ridiculous. The keys should be valid until check out time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Room we originally were given was dirty with no maid service. Second room - our keys wouldn't open the door and the room was stuffy and smelled like dirty body oils. Still not sure if our bed was actually clean. I don't think the carpet throughout the entire hotel has been vacuumed ever since the hotel opened. Will never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by CATHERINE

A Lick and a promise

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
When i first went to the room there was garbage and cigarette butts outside the entrance door. There was pills, a aerosol can and bottle caps in the floor. The sheets looked like they were not changed so, luckily I brought my own. While getting my sheets changed I saw a lot of hair and dirt on the box spring at the head of the bed. When I went to the bathroom I saw the tub was filthy. I tried to turn on the water it was broken. I had to wait 3 hours for it to be fixed. When the maintenance guy fixed it there was dark brown water coming out the spikit so, I knew it had been a long time that the tub had been cleaned. Ugh!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bloomington, Il

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Not many people staying at this hotel. Clean and offered continental breakfast
3 out of 5
by Jeffery A

Low Expectations

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
After a gross experience previously (see earlier review), I wasn't expecting much. However, had this been my first stay, it would have a better rating from me. Clean room, all promised amenities. After my previous experience I checked the bed right away. Clean bedding-whew! TV remote worked better than previous. My only issue with the room is that the red message light was blinking on both phones. When I called down to the desk to see if there was some message for me, the clerk told me there was nothing for me and they weren't sure how to get the lights to stop blinking. Suggestion to Quality Inn management: let guests know if there is anything peculiar about their room when they check in - maybe you could have something automatically pop up on the front desk's computer when a guest checks into a room with a known but unresolved issue. Breakfast fare is basic with waffle iron and two chafing dishes. No yogurt or peanut butter. :( Juice was still watery, but not as bad as my previous stay. Don't know if the printer issue has been resolved in the "business center." Pool area still closed, but I did see progress being made. Ice machine on 2nd floor still broken. No progress. I am trying a competitor's hotel next week, with comparable price.
2 out of 5
by Jeffery A

Low Quality Inn

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
I noticed a kind of musty smell in much of the hotel, especially the first room I was given. Panel in closet covering heater/ac unit was loose, exposing a lot of lint and such. A beetle with a shield shaped body landed on my shirt shortly after I entered the room. The final straw for this room was when I pulled back the bed covering and saw hair, lint, and other such materials on the sheets. I was promptly given a comparable room when I called the front desk, and it was much better. I did see two more of those beetles later on when I was trying to print some training materials in the business center area; one of the bugs was dead on the desk and the other was alive on the wall. As far as the business center goes, access to Internet was good, but computer and printer were not communicating correctly, so I could not print anything! Front desk staff did print something for me from his computer, but it was a difficult process, and very time consuming. Other Concerns Pool was not open to guests with work being done on it, but no notice or explanation given to me when I checked in. Ice machine on my floor was broken. Juices at breakfast were watered down and unpleasant to drink. TV remote buttons had to be pushed really hard, requiring two hands to get it to change channels, and I had to enter specific channel numbers as the up/down selector did not work at all. The tissue box in my bathroom was empty.
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Will return again

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoy the stay and will return again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Mold in the bathroom

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Nice stay but clean the mold up. Very frustrating to see that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Stay 4 times a year. Nice rooms. Breakfast is usually cold though.