Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Never again!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Mattress are somewhat comfortable
Cons: Smell/Odor, smells like a bikers pub!
Location: Near by Indiana Dunes State Park, which has an awesome beach! Will definitely go back to this beach, not to the Super 8 though...
Selected this hotel only for the price and distance to the Indiana dunes state park, thought it was a good deal $80dlls/night for a 2 beds room for me, wife and 2 kids. The room had a very strong smell of something like a combination of a generic brand Lysol and a cigarette ashtray, furniture was very outdated, staff did not care much, the place is hidden. The good thing is that we had to stay only for one night, next time I will put a couple of extra $10's and get a nice a clean hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was not what we expected.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Not staying there and not posting such a high star rating through expedia.
Location: Nothing
Based on the rating on Expedia, we were very disappointed. The location was very dark and off the main highway. The motel was run down outside and inside. Our room had dirty bathroom walls and floor, would not shower there due to the mold. The air conditioner was so loud we couldn't use it. and it dripped all night without it being turned on. There were spiders on the walls in the room. We were on the first floor, someone tried to get into our room around 3:00am and then around 4:00am there were dogs howling the in the adjacent rooms next to use. Was not aware it was a pet friendly hotel or we would have asked to stay where they didn't have rooms next to an animal room. When we got there the gentleman that greeted was dirty and had dirty stained clothes on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is OK at best.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
The first thing I noticed was the smell... it was musty and unwelcoming, smelled of stale smoke. The whole hotel is "smoke free" but you can definitely tell it used to be a smoking a hotel. They can at least air the rooms out or maybe a new paint job to remove the smell? We didn't spend much time in our room only used it for sleeping. The shower head sprayed water all over and the ceiling above the shower bubbled up and started leaking. Very awkward. Who knows the last time they steam cleaned the carpets here.. they were almost sticky. This is definitely no luxury hotel and I knew that when I booked but all the surrounding hotels were booked and super 8s I've been to in the past have been decent but this just didn't do it for me. It's pet friendly so that's nice although my boyfriend did get bit by a small dog on our visit. If you're looking for a place just to sleep this would do but if you wanna be able to hang out in your room no way. I would of rather been camping outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected quality.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Excellent value for money, was located close to an attraction we wanted to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dianne from Cambridge, Ontario

Super Super8

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
room was clean, comfortable and affordable. we would stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by duane from beloit

nice stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
we've stayed there a few years now to go to the elvis fantasyfest,its close to the park,clean room,friendly people,we/ll be back next year
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeremiah from Ohio

Not The Best visit but bearable

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Let me start out by saying this was an okay stay. Our non smoking room smells like cigarettes and smoke haha. That really stinks. The area is definitely shady. I thought it was okay stay, but I probably wont return. Unfortunately, there's not much to choose from in Portage if you want to save money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Needygal from Troy, MI

Very Good place for the $

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
We only stayed 1 night but we would definitely return. The sign is small. We passed it up the first time even with 4 of us looking for it. We had a very clean room and a comfortable bed. Room is narrow. The location is very convenient just off the freeway, but far enough away to have a peaceful sleep. Staff is polite and helpful. The free breakfast is typical with make-your-own waffles. Enough variety to start anyone's day. Lobby could use an updating, but it is welcoming.