Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south texas

Very clean and comfy beds

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Hotel was clean, friendly staff, extremely close to shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Elegantly comfortable

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Beautiful property. Landscape, water features, views...so pretty in all directions. An oasis...an escape. Several swimming pools and restaurants. Why would one leave the country when La Cantera is HERE?!?!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: fire pits
very nice. would like a microwave in the room. The little refrigerator was broken and was not fixed even after 3 daily calls for service. Overall I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Would not return to this property

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: pools
Cons: Staff needs to be trained to effectively handle rowdy guests
Location: n/a
First night in the hotel..a convention was going on with so many drunks their partying echoed into our room that overlooked the courtyard. The hotel staff was apologetic, however, they did not seem comfortable or able to control the unruly guests. For four hours we tried to sleep, repeatedly calling the front desk to assist, went down to front desk to ask for help. Finally we asked a manager came to our room to listen for himself and he agreed it was unacceptable. We called Expedia (who was great) to help us get a refund and find another hotel. The hotel offered us a Villa away from the main hotel and we accepted since it was approaching 1am. The took our family via golf cart to the room which was great. They told us we would remain there for our stay. The next day a manager called us stating he had notes that we would return to the main hotel the next day. I told him the other manager stated otherwise. We did not leave the villa and it was great. Till our last night we had drunken neighbors that made the once serene setting noisy again. We liked the villa and could not wait to come back until the last night. Called the front desk and they called the other villa requesting they keep it down. They did not. We would not return to this property. The amenities are great, but the polite staff is too polite when it comes to addressing guests that affect other guests experience. The staff did the best to take care of us but if you are unable to sleep it does not matter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice hotel and close to shopping.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Room and amenities, pool etc.
Location: Great shopping and Fiesta Texas Six Flags super close!
We loved everything about the hotel and staff. We just had a couple of charges on our credit card that we couldn't´t understand and had to call to clarify, I certainly do not like having to call to clarify situations, but other than that everything great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

The hotel did not honor any of the VIP offers.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The views.
Cons: Clean your rooms.
Location: The Cantera shops and Rim shops.
The hotel did not honor any of the VIP amenities until I called and complained to Expedia. No upgrades I had to change rooms twice. In the first room the bath tube had black dirt or mold all over the bottom of the tube. The second room had someones long hair all bunch up in the corner of the toilet. Not worth it for $232.00 a night. The spa was in repair in the men section.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never book again via Expedia

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel as soon as they know you booked via Expedia they'll put you in the worest rooms they have and that's on the first floor , I have booked a room in this hotel a month ago and they gave me a room in the first floor I didn't argue and as soon as I entered the room it was ridiculously small and found several bugs in the room looming in the bathroom and table I told the manger and apologized and promised to take care of next time we visit, so i booked a room a month later and I told the pets who checked me in about my past experience and I told him the manager name and showed him the bugs photos that I took and sent to the manager he said they don't have any room for an upgrade so I ended up in the same level and as soon as I enter the room i found a yellow spider and a huge dead blue fly on the table and concierge man apologized and called them telling about the bugs he saw in the room so they magically found an empty room on the second floor but they were so rude and ruined my weekend and made me pay for everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Absolutely the best Hotel in The San Antonio area. Great staff great people beautiful setting. I would recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh

Posted Sep 6, 2017
My experience at the hotel we went to the adult only pool 530pm. They said they close at 7:00pm. I asked if there are towels they said no. We close at 7pm. I asked if I can get drinks and food down here and the lady said no we close at 7. She wasn't even looking at me. She was too busy cleaning up ready to get out. I found our spot at the pool and asked for the umbrella to be opened. The lady said we close at 7. I asked can't it be open? We have an hr or so left. She said we close at 7. I then said, well there are other umbrellas opened (being used). She looked at me and said I'll have someone right there. She annoyed. If you don't like your place of work. Don't be there. The customer service needs to be top of the line. Also not having towels the 4 times we went to the adult pool is unacceptable. Making us walk back up stairs. And sometime to the workout room. Also, the rooms aren't that great. We heard everything. The house keeping isn't quite doing their clean up. They bang doors and sing!! Haha. The outside work was being done at 830-9ish. We heard that too. So much for sleeping in and enjoying the morning. The whole experience was bad customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel is not a Resort level hotel. No attention to detail, muggy rooms, crowded pool area, food is overpriced and not very good.