Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albert lea

Nice rooms but needed a good cleaning

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Hallways and stairways had cobwebs and dead bugs . Good breakfast great night staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Less expensive than the casino alternative

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable and quiet room
Cons: There did not appear to be much, if any, ventilation in the bathroom. Perhaps a mechanical problem?
Location: Adjacent to the Diamond Jo Casino. Pilot Knob and Rice Lake State Parks are well within driving distance
We got into the hotel at around 11:30. The room was held for us which was great. Room was comfortable, and breakfast was served downstairs with a variety of things including eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, assorted bread and cereal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 4 star review! It is always wonderful to hear that our location was enjoyed. I am very glad to see that everything went well with your stay and that you were able to get breakfast before you left. We hope to see you again in the future!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Musty room

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Musty room, for a new hotel there a number of maintence issues. There was a maintence man actively work so I have to wonder if he was a more recent hire. AC in hallway on second floor did not work, very warm hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Sherri, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel. I am sorry to hear about the smell of your room, I have talked with housekeeping and we are actively trying to rid of that smell. I am also sorry about the warm hallway we are working on getting that fixed. We hope to get everything taken care of in a timely manner. Thank you again for writing a review on our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gloria from Pueblo West, CO

Not Up To Par!!

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
I requested a room on the upper floor when I made the reservation and was told when I checked in that those were taken by the hotels regular customers. In addition, the bathroom was poorly cleaned as there were urine stains down the sides of the toilet! The rest of the room was o.k. Granted this was a one night stay but I wasn't happy with my stay overall. I skipped the breakfast and left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Sherri, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for giving feedback on your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize that you were not able to get the floor you requested. Unfortunately it is not always easy for us to fulfill all of the requests that come through to us as we only have a certain number of room types on each floor. We do our best to give our guests the location they desire, but it can be difficult because we do have multiple guests that stay for more than one night at a time which can limit our play with placing guests in their desired location of the hotel. I am sorry that it was not better explained when you checked in. I would also like to apologize for the cleanliness of the toilet, I have discussed this issue with housekeeping and they will be double checking all toilets. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, we hope you have safe travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Diane from Fort Wayne

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Sherri, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us! It's wonderful to see that you found our hotel "great". We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Dissapointed

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Parking area
Cons: Mos of everything
Location: Few minutes drive from Kansas City center
Room smelled as If weat dog had slept in the bed. In general this hotel is not at same level of other Holiday inns we have visited in the USA
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2015 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for writing a review on us here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Northwood, Iowa. I am very sorry to hear that you found an unpleasant smell in your room. I am unsure as to why the room would have smelled like that as we make it a priority to make sure the rooms are fresh and ready to go to the next guest. I will be sure to inform housekeeping of your dissatisfaction so that we can make sure that this doesn't happen again in the future. Again, thank you very much for your review. We hope you have safe travels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by reta from crete il

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very well kept. The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed the snack and breakfast service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2015 by Sherri, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It makes us so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the room you stayed in as well as the breakfast in the morning. If you ever find yourself back in the area, we would love to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victoria s.

Stared for one night

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Orbitz
Had a one night stay. Room was nice, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good also. The location was also good. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels