Ratings based on 840 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada.

One night stand type of hotel!!

Posted Jan 17, 2018
The worst experience it my life. Bathtub had 3 huge chips in it. Bug crawling on Wall. Shower curtain hanging over rod. Heating was not working and we could not adjust heat. Only decent staff was the daytime fellow. I am flabbergasted that Expedia would even showcase this hotel on their site. I will never go through Expedia again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel falling down

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: people nice
Cons: it would help if you researched the hotel better, verified amenities
people were nice, pool and hotub broken, room smallest I ever saw. paint and wallpaper peeling. we left after 1 nite, they said you handle my refund for other 2 days. please respnd
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo,ohio

Bugs

Posted Jan 6, 2018
A female friend I let in to the room... she called me and said there were bugs. We encounter about 5 of them through the night. Which mad us un comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Had to clean the room and remake the bed. The hotel breakfast was lousy it served cold tater totes and no eggs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Awesome Service

Posted Dec 3, 2017
I was truly shocked to learn that the most amazing guest services that I have had in along time was not from a guest service manager, but from the housekeeping manager. This is a rare find in the hospitality industry. Please realize what you have as a rare jewel and keep her making smiles on your guests faces.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing to do except the casino
When we checked in there was a sing stating pool and hot tub were closed for maintenance but it was since July. Elevator smelled like mold, my wife has asthma and was coughing all day after that. TV was horrible, remote control broken, when booked room, it said 'king side bed, room with view", the "view" was the back of a shopping plaza with the garbage bins!!! Lamps where not working, only one. We left the next day and asked for refund. this was horrible!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from windsor

Really going downhill

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Stayed here over 5 times. This time pool and hot tub not in service. Was given room on 2nd floor that was clearly over used. Lots of unsightly flaws. Missing railing and holes in shower. Tile repair job in the bathroom was not good. All in all very run down and dissapointing
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by May, Hotel Management
Thank you for being a repeat customer. We appreciate and thank you for for your business. Sorry about the pool and hot tub as they are out of service for now due to some maintenance issues. We appreciate your input and will forward the issue to our maintenance team.Thank you once again and a hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. Hope to see you soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
It was ok experience, wifi doesn’t work if your room is away from lobby. Pillows were nasty. Pool and spa closed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are working very hard on getting our pool back in order as soon as we can. I apologize for any inconvenience that you endured during your stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Go look at yelp for this pile of filth. Dont book here dont book here. Didn't evwn get an apology oe acknowledgment feom them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. While we try to accommodate each of our guests the best way we can we understand that some people are hard to please. Thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canton, Ohio

I dont think anything has been updated since built

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Cheap Idk it was next to a bar so Im sure that works out well for some people lmao
Cons: FIX THINGS WHEN THEY BREAK. MAKE MAIDS CLEAN
Location: Toledo. Pretty much nothing. Missed getting the hotel I wanted and this was the last option lol. 24 hour subway was a life saver tho
Pretty horrible hotel to be honest. I'm generally not one to even write a review but if this stops someone from getting a dirty "Suite" like I did then all the more worth my time. Now I knew choosing from the bargain hotels I wasnt going to get anything nice, but hell. They could have at least had the rooms cleaned a little better and/or maybe fix things when they break. idk... was cheap af tho lol so
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We will address those issues right away.