Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Warm and Cosy on a cold January day

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Pros: That it didn't look like a chain hotel.
Cons: The drainage in the rooms.
Location: It's very close to town, walkable in 10 mins. It's also very easy to miss as it's hidden from the main road. Look out for the Best Western sign.
We only stayed for one night, arriving late and leaving early so our 'experience' of the hotel is pretty limited. The hotel is clearly being refurbished at the moment so things were a bit muddled. However, our room was nicely presented and very cosy and warm. As we arrived we saw food arriving for people, it looked very tasty, they boast a AA rosette restaurant with food being available to your room too. Only gripe was that there seemed to be a drainage problem in our room as the water did not drain away for a very long time, mentioned this to staff and they did say that they would sort it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Hopefully you will be back to experience all we have to offer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough and free parking

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Free parking is not to be sniffed at and the hotel is right on the edge of the "golden triangle and a pleasant walk in to the centre. Renovation is currently on-going but that had little impact on our stay. The rooms are not huge but comfortable, warm and clean. The shower was great - plenty of hot water with a good power shower. I'd have liked better pillows - hollowfill pillows might be more hygienic but they can be like bricks. Breakfast was excellent and more than enough to keep us going all day. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Relatively good value in the end.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff at The George Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018 on Hotels
The staff at The George were fantastic, I did have a problem on the first morning because the builders started working outside my window at 8am.... But I was immediately upgraded and moved to the back of the hotel so I can't complain. The only other problem was the very slow wifi, but I understand they will be upgrading it shortly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are hoping to have the works complete by May 2018 (fingers crossed!) Hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by Sylvia

Friendly hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
Quiet location, about 10 minutes walk from town centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the review! Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk England.

Perfect base for exploring Norwich.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. And will do again. The staff are welcoming. The newly refurbished rooms are modern and stylish. And the breakfast was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2018 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely Redecorated room, very comfortable.

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Hotel in general a bit older and rough around the edges but the room we stayed in lovely and comfortable, recently redecorated and was very nice. Staff nice enough, didn’t have too much interaction with apart from check in and out. Would definitely stay again. Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

10minute walk into the town centre

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Newly refurbished room and bar area. Lovely friendly staff . Free parking, great central location.
4 out of 5
by Karen

Last Minute Booking in a Lovely Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2017 on Hotels
Quite a late booking but given a lovely little room that had recently been redecorated so lovely, clean and fresh. Wonderful to find a bath in the en-suite as well allowing me to have a steaming hot soak in the morning. Booked dinner before going off to watch my daughter’s 3rd Year Production at UEA and thought by ordering fish and chips it would be a warming winner. Sadly the fish had no taste which was an unusual disappointment. It was perfectly cooked and I was very hungry so of course I ate it but not sure I would order that again. No a huge amount of food choices for a vegetarian although there was a risotto option as well. All staff I came across were lovely and friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
by Sophie

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 14, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. Friendly staff. Can't comment on food as we didn't eat here on our overnight stay. Fairly good spot in terms of being close to the centre. The hotel was generally nice, with a pleasant bar area to relax in and the room was clean and a nice size. The only real complaint is the shower just wouldn't get hot enough to use; lukewarm shower not very pleasant. The bath, however, had piping hot water. All in all a nice hotel, could do with sprucing up a little maybe a little tired looking. But it has a lovely feel to it and is a nice building. The hotel was also decorated nicely for this festive time. I would stay here again. Norwich is a delightful city and I definitely want to return again. It has a very relaxed vibe and so many great places to eat, drink and socialise as well as the excellent shopping available. A lovely, lovely city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City break

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: We had a excective room which was a lot bigger than standard and a Queen size bed
Cons: It is still being refurbished so this needs to be done as quick as possible It felt a little like faulty towers in reception
Location: 15 minute walk to city
Room was fine just a couple of maintenance problems but told reception Great idea they do a takeaway breakfast so you dont have to have the full breakfast in the restaurant you can get food in your room and enjoy a lay in