Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stop

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: See above
Parklng was nice an easy with plenty of space, staff was very polite and caring on arrival, very warm in room no air condition but nice big fan available, noisy children playing outside room late at night but soon moved, breakfast was very good with plenty of choices, and the breakfast staff was excellent especially Jack.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Dunston Hall. The team in particular Jack will be delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time with us finding breakfast very good and themselves excellent. The team here all work hard to ensure our guests are looked after and I know will enjoy reading your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunston in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

Amazing Hotel - Restaurants were disappointing

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The building and facilities (not including the restaurant or bars)
Cons: All eating and drinking facilities, the main restaurant seemed to be disliked by most as the terrace bar was packed with people eating so you couldn't
Location: Norwich is not far and the Park and Ride as a minute drive down the road, we also went on a boat trip with Broads Tours
We recently had a two night stay here and were swept away by how outstanding the hotel itself was- stunning hotel, very well maintained, excellent facilities, a restaurant and a separate bar, golf etc. The room was one of the larger we've stayed in- very clean, lovely new bathroom with not a spec of lime scale or mould anywhere! The only downside to the room was the rock hard bed, resulting in two very poor nights sleep and quite a rubbish view overlooking the roof the reception. We used the swimming pool both days we were here- very impressed! Again, very clean no lime scale or mould, lovely pool, a Jacuzzi area in the pool and a separate heated one, lots of sun loungers and a steam room and sauna. When we checked in the reception staff were very eager to book us in for dinner with the earliest table being 8:30 pm, we didn't know for sure we'd eat here and thought we'd take our chances if we were. We decided to stay and eat at the hotel so we could have a drink, although previous inspections of the menu showed it to be incredibly expensive, but wanted to take the chance in hope of getting the quality for the amount. We showed up at 7pm when they opened and were seated straight away. Food was terrible! and £50 for two drinks and two mains! Carvery was awful, dried and leftover from lunch time. The next night we checked a card for the room to eat in our room, ordered food for two and were advised it would be 30-40 minutes. 45 minutes later we rec'd a call to say they'd run out
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Stephanie for your review following your visit to the hotel. It was disappointing to read that despite finding the hotel in a good location to explore the local area and the building looking impressive with good facilities you were let down by our food offering. Please be assured your comments will be passed on to the Management Team so the points you raised can be addressed. Customer feedback such as yours is very important as we use it to continually assess the level of services and facilities we offer our guests. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Breakfast fantast

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Stayed on a B&B basis 2 nights. Very comfortable room. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. Spa facilities were excellent. Large gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Al for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you found your room comfortable with the team being friendly and helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Perfect short break

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Food service in the bar was a little slow.
Location: Excellent location within a five minute drive of the Harford park and ride for Norwich city centre.
A nice hotel with beautiful surroundings, good sized and comfortable bedrooms, excellent food and friendly, helpful staff. A minor issue with the bathroom was dealt with immediately. The inclusion of free use of the pool and sauna within our package was a nice touch. Our short break was made complete by the ease with which we could visit other parts of Norfolk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Dave for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nice, family and dog friendly hotel. Good pool but outside overly dominated by the golf and restaurant quality not great
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Paul for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Not exactly dog friendly

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Stayed here as we wanted a dog friendly hotel close to the hospital. Paid £20.00 extra to bring her along but not sure why we were charged this as she was only allowed in the bedroom and reception area. Most dog friendly hotels have at least a bar area you are allowed to take your dog into but not here, which means you are limited in terms of enjoying the full range of the hotel unless you choose to leave your dog alone for much of the time. Hotel and staff are very nice but disappointed by the unexpected limitations of bringing our dog which we have not experienced in other dog friendly hotels who charge less or nothing at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you poppy for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. Please be assured your comments with regards to not being dog friendly will be passed on to the Management Team so the points you raised can be addressed. It was however pleased to read you found the hotel and its staff very nice. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Very poor restaurant

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We stayed Friday and Saturday, the reason for the stay was to catch up with old friends who live in Norwich. I booked afternoon tea for six people at 3:15pm the service was terrible, I had to go and find someone for more tea. I also booked an evening meal for the six of us at 20:15pm. Five of us got something to eat at 10.20. The other meal had got forgotten about and did not arrive for another 25 minutes. I will not be eating there again, very poor. When I complained To the restaurant manager I was told they were busy! If I had eaten in there Friday night and had that experience I would have cancelled Saturday night. I also got a bill for £ 447:00 which was over charged by £ 40:00.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Barney for your review following your visit to the hotel. I was extremely disappointed to read of the problems you experienced in our Brasserie Restaurant and please accept my sincere apologies for this. Please be assured your comments are important to the hotel and will be passed on to the Executive Chef and Brasserie Restaurant Manager so the points you raised can be addressed. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex

Plush Hotel in great position

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We stayed here as a base to visit and tour Norfolk and it certainly didn't disappoint. Building and rooms very impressive and we particularly enjoyed the air conditioned room with a double bed each! The breakfast tops any we've had previously and the only one miniscule criticism would be that certain areas of the dining room are a bit shabby and need repair notably the seating in the booths. Overall an awesome experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Diane for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay finding the hotel in a good location to explore the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was our 10th wedding anniversary . And we picked Dunston hall for a weekend Beautiful place .excellent meals and breakfast was amazing.chilled out in the pool Definitely coming back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Martin for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay for your 10th wedding anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho, USA

Luxury in a stunning setting!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
As always, we had a wonderful visit and wish it could have been longer. Beautiful property, full of history, with first class amenities and a heavenly setting! It truly never disappoints! It is very close to the city of Norwich with all it has to offer, whilst being surrounded by woodland and English countryside. The breakfast which is typically included in our room booking, is by far the best, and has been upgraded to include all sorts of delicious extras :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Joanne, Hotel Management
Thank you Robbie for your review following your visit to Dunston Hall. I was pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Joanne Mason Hotel Administrator